Blessed.

I don’t know about you, but I absolutely adore my grandparents!  And fortunately for me, both sets of mine are still around for me to bug them a little longer. 😉  This past weekend, Tim and I decided to drop in on my dad’s parents, who live in the eastern part (aka the pretty part) of Ohio; and I was reminded of how blessed I am to have such a rich heritage.  I heard stories from when Granddad was growing up, and Grandma took us around the college campus where she and Granddad met.  I think it is pretty neat that they chose to retire to the place where their romance began.  It also happens to be the town where Granddad grew up (and Grandma lived on a farm not too far away), so it was neat to see again the places that hold so many wonderful memories for both of them.  We watched the Kentucky Derby, and looked at pictures from when my dad was a little boy (sooo cute!), and they asked us questions about our life plans/goals.  All in all, a great trip!   Although I’m usually ready to get back to my own home after a few days, I was a little sad that we couldn’t stay longer this time.  I wanted to hear more stories! Sad, too, because I know I will not have them forever.  Death is a fact of life, and the longer I am alive, well, the older they get.  One day, they won’t be around.  I wish I could have told them how much they mean to me.  I want my Grandma, especially, to know how much I have looked up to her over the years.  She has set a wonderful example to me of what a godly woman of the Lord should be like.  She is an amazing wife who faithfully serves her husband and family, an extremely hard worker (she is always doing something!), a great cook; she (and Granddad) have always been very involved in various programs at the college and in their church….the list goes on.  What strikes me the most about Grandma is her genuine concern for others.  She is so good at caring for others, and she never stops thinking of ways to bless those around her.  Not many people may know who she is, but I have always thought of her as one of the greatest woman to have lived! I hope to carry on her legacy and make a difference in my own little part of the world, blessing others and showing Christ’s love.

So, Grandma, if you’re reading this, I hope you know how loved you and Granddad are by all of us!!! Thank you for sharing your life with me, with all of us.  I am so glad I’m in your family! 🙂  Much love, Deborah

One thought on “Blessed.

  1. I’m very touched by your comments, Honeybee, and agree with them all. I’ve always looked up to your grandma also and learned SO much. Your dad and I are incredibly blessed by God that our wonderful parents are still alive and healthy. It’s certainly much more valuable than silver or gold to still have the benefits of their life experience.

    Like

Comments are closed.