Secure.

Secure | Journey of Faith | Security in Christ alone

When I was little, I used to think my house was the safest place ever.  Surrounded by four walls and a roof, I thought it had the ability to keep all the bad stuff away from me.  Including the tornadoes.  Well, not anymore.   Now I know that if a tornado were heading for my house, I would probably die, and my house would be swept away. (Why, oh why did we not buy a house with a basement??!?)  Furthermore, if there were a bad guy who wanted to rob me in the middle of the night (which, I don’t know why he would, because we literally have nothing of value in our home!), and he really wanted to get in, he totally could.  My house does not protect me against these sorts of things.

My security is no longer in my house.

Secure | Journey of Faith | Security in Christ alone

When I was little, I used to think that acquiring lots of money was the way to build security.  Earn enough money, and I could get whatever I want!  Save, save, save, and then I would have no need to rely on anyone for anything.  I would be self-reliant.   Well, I’ve grown up, and I have realized that money is no place to put my security.  Things break, and the money I’ve worked so hard to save up is spent on those broken things, and then when I have saved more, something else breaks.  It is a vicious cycle, and it’s helped me to see how vain it is to chase after money.

My security is not in my money.

Secure | Journey of Faith | Security in Christ alone

When I was little, I thought that if I could be the most beautiful person in the world, I would be happy.  I don’t know why I thought this.  How does outer beauty equate to inner peace and security? It was a shallow mindset that I had for many years, but I believed it, and chased after it.  Then I grew up.  I saw that my obsession with my looks didn’t provide the results that I wanted-I never turned out to be the most beautiful-and in my best shape, with the best haircut, I still wasn’t happy.  Or secure.   (Plus, as I’ve noticed wrinkles appear on my face and my natural hair color fade, I’ve come to firmly believe that the looks don’t last!)

My security is not in my outward appearance.

Secure | Journey of Faith | Security in Christ alone

When I was little, my biggest dream was to be married.  I thought I would be secure in having a husband.  He would provide for our home, show me unconditional love, and tell me all the time how beautiful, funny, etc. I am.  Amazingly, my dream came true.  God gave me the man of my dreams (seriously!!!!!), and he is the greatest person in the whole world.  I say that sincerely.  BUT….he is not perfect.  He could lose his job tomorrow, and while he tries to love me unconditionally, alas, he is a mere human.  Some days he is grumpy.  And slightly mean (very rare occurrence, to be sure, but still…)  While God has given me a great gift in my husband, he is not the one in whom I secure my hope.

My security is not in my spouse.

Secure | Journey of Faith | Security in Christ alone

When I was little, I heard a wonderful message.  I learned about a perfect Savior, who died for sinners like me.  After His death, He then rose from the dead, so that if I believe in Him, I can know and live with Him forever!! I trusted in Him at a young age, and He has never let me down.  In my worst moments, He has always been there.  Through different trials and sin struggles, He has loved me and shown me how to get back to the right path.  When I have felt alone, He has been there to comfort me and, in time, provide me with wonderful, godly friends.  His name is Jesus, and He is the anchor for my soul, the Rock on which I stand, my Redeemer and Friend.  Jesus Christ is where I have put my security.

Where are you placing your security today?

Hebrews 6:19a~ “We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure.”

One thought on “Secure.

  1. great post, sister. reminds me of Ecclesiastes, particularly in the first couple chapters when the Preacher is searching out all these things to find satisfaction and meaning (wisdom, pleasure, toil, etc)…. but they’re all meaningless.

    “Now all has been heard; here is the conclusion of the matter: Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole [duty] of man.” Eccl 12:13

    Like

Comments are closed.