Trusting God

Trusting God | Journey of Faith | Trusting God in the unknown

My husband and I are moving to Louisville, KY soon so he can start seminary in August.

My emotions have been toying with me over this upcoming development in our lives–one day excited, the next, doubting and fearful.  As of late, I have just been fearful.  So many questions reel through my mind- how are we going to pay for all of seminary, where will we live, what kind of jobs will we have, how will our marriage survive the next 3 or so years while Tim pours his life into studies?

And when I have been exhausted by all these questions, I’ve found myself in the position of the father in Mark 9, the one with the demon possessed son, who cried out to the Lord, “I believe; help me overcome my unbelief!”

…Yes, Lord. Help!  Give me faith to trust You, now and always!  Help me to follow You in obedience, each step of the way, trusting in Your sovereignty and Your provision

As I have been battling with this fearfulness, I have also been reminded of our great forefather, Abraham.

What faith he had to be willing to sacrifice his own son at the Lord’s command!  Not only was he willing, but he followed through in obedience. He loaded the donkey, traveled to Moriah, prepared the sacrifice, and laid his son on the altar.

Only when he had taken out his knife to kill his son, his only son, did the angel command him to stop.  This was merely a test, to see if Abraham really loved God more than anything else, even his own child.

But Abraham hadn’t known that when he was loading his donkey, and taking his son to what he thought would be his final resting place?

How did Abraham do it?

“By faith Abraham, when God tested him, offered Isaac as a sacrifice. He who had received the promises was about to sacrifice his one and only son, even though God had said to him, “It is through Isaac that your offspring will be reckoned.” Abraham reasoned that God could raise the dead…(Hebrews 11:17-19)”

FAITH.  Abraham believed God.  He knew that God could raise the dead back to life, and that’s what he was counting on, since God had already told him his offspring would come through Isaac.  That’s how he was able to sacrifice his son, because he knew that God is faithful to do what He says He is going to do (Rom. 4:20,21).

And that is how I can survive, er, thrive!- in seminary, and all of life.  By believing God.  Trusting that He will provide for all of my needs according to the riches that He has (Phil. 4:19), knowing that He is always here with me (Heb. 13:5), that He is the One directing my steps (Prov. 16:9).  I can walk confidently in the assurance that my God is a God of His Word, never failing, always following through with His promises.

I am looking forward to these next few months (and years!), as we plan and prepare, and see God provide!

“And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of His glory in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:19

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.” Ephesians 3:20, 21

4 thoughts on “Trusting God

  1. As a wife who supported her husband while he attended seminary, I know you are taking a step of faith. It’s worth the price. Remember Joshua and his followers had to place their feet in the water before it parted. This is simply a step in the right direction and you’re trusting God. Prayers and love to you as you embark on this new, exciting journey!

    Like

  2. I admire Abraham also for leaving his comfort zone in Haran in the first place, purely because God called him. He wasn’t able to check on the net what kind of place it was or whether he could find employment or if there was affordable housing – he just went. What faith!

    Like

Comments are closed.