This is not the End!

A few Sundays ago, I was singing at church with my brothers and sisters in Christ, when I had to stop singing.  I could hear everyone’s voices around me, and it was beautiful.  Their voices sounded loud; it was a beautiful, resonating sound!  I stopped singing and closed my eyes, soaking in the glorious moment.  I imagined what heaven will be like, when ALL of my brothers and sisters in the Lord will be together, singing our praises to the King of Kings- in the very presence of the King (I mean, He is with us now, but we will SEE Him in heaven! ~1 John 3:2).  The Lord brought to my memory that passage in Revelation 21, where John says, “Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and there was no longer any sea.  I saw the Holy City, the new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride beautifully dressed for her husband.  And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, ‘Now the dwelling of God is with men and he will live with them.  They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God.  He will wipe every tear from their eyes.  There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.’  He who was seated on the throne said, ‘I am making everything new!'” (Rev. 21:1-5)

I find it incredible that on a Sunday morning, we can gather together as a body of believers, and through worshipping God, we proclaim to one another what is to come!  So, isn’t this partly why we “do church”, why we gather week after week? To declare that this is not the end!  For those of us who are in Christ Jesus, this is just a shadow, a glimpse of what is to come…heaven…seeing Jesus, and being with Him forever…the place of no more death, sadness, pain, or tears.

And this proclamation of things to come motivates us to go out and proclaim the Gospel to those around us, that God may bring others into His family.  Not only that, but it encourages us who are discouraged, weighed down with the trials and suffering of this life.  Take heart! we say as we sing to the Lord, Remember that this life is not the end! What we’re doing here today, we will do in the presence of God for all eternity! 

“I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us.  The creation waits in eager expectation for the sons of God to be revealed.”  Romans 8:18,19

One thought on “This is not the End!

Comments are closed.