Introducing the Fire-pit

I am happy, happy, happy to announce that we. have. a FIRE-PIT! Tim and I have literally been talking about getting one since we were married, and that was threee years ago, my friends!!! Needless to say, I’m a lil’ bit excited ’bout it. Just a lil’. Nope, scratch that. I AM STOKED! Do you know why? Because fire-pits are awesome, especially for those chilly, fall nights. Or any nights. Okay, and side note: apparently the stores sell fire-pits in the summer, which makes no sense to me. Whyyy would you want to use a fire-pit on a hot, summer eve? Β 

clay fire-pit

Look at our oh-so-cute fire-pit! (don’t worry, we didn’t use the fire-pit on our deck, I’m not ready to burn down my patio…yet)

Sadly, when we purchased our lovely little pit of fiery awesomeness, we neglected to buy ingredients for s’mores. Or any wood with which to start a fire. And then the next day, it started raining, so we had to wait a few days. But that’s okay, because it amped up my level of anticipation for when we DID get a chance to enjoy it!

fire

ohhh, how much fun it is to sit around a fire!

Tim and I had so much fun sitting around our little fire in our sort of little backyard, roasting marshmallows and then eating s’mores. We even tried something new: s’mores with Reese’s peanut butter cups on them instead of just plain old chocolate. I think I still prefer the classic version, but it was fun to branch out a little.

kurtz

Us at our fire-pit date night. It was epic.

Now, in my last post, I said I would include s’more recipes. So I’m going to do that now. πŸ™‚ If you are sick of the usual s’mores, first of all, go get help because why would you ever get tired of graham crackers and chocolate and marshmallow smashed together in one delicious treat (as you can tell, I love the combo)…and then try this campfire cones recipe from the blog Come Together Kids. Genius, in my opinion (I also love sugar cones). Perhaps, though, you’d just like to try a little twist on the classic s’mores. If so, check this recipe out. And please, please let me know if it’s worth it, because it looks AMAZING. But if you’re just itching to add some bacon to your dessert- because I’ve been seeing this trend lately where restaurants add bacon to everything, and I mean EVERYTHING- then maybe this bacon s’mores recipe will be your thing.
Do you have any good campfire recipes – preferably desserts but I’ll take other suggestions – that have been a hit in your family? I would love to hear your suggestions for yummy campfire food!

One thought on “Introducing the Fire-pit

Comments are closed.