Fearfully and Wonderfully Made

Thus far, my favorite part of the adoption process has been reading informative books that discuss many of the issues that our children will have probably faced by the time we are united with them; and how to effectively love, nurture and train them as their parents with compassion and understanding.  As I become informed about some of the situations that might (probably) affect our children, I find myself becoming excited, anxious to practice these new lessons that I am learning on parenting.

In one of the books that I have just started, Adoption Parenting: Creating a Toolbox, Building Connections, there is one section that discusses how to openly talk with your child(ren) about their birth parents. I won’t go into detail here about all that it said (you’ll just have to read the book for yourself!), but it has caused me to ponder {again}: “What will I tell my young ones if and when they begin to ask questions about their past?”  “What will I say if I become pregnant one day, and my older children ask me why they were not in my tummy?”

Kurtz Family Adoption
click on photo for image source

As I wonder about these things, the truth of Psalm 139 sinks into my heart, and I have never been more comforted by such truth.  I don’t know that I will be able to tell my children their story; we may not ever be given such details.  I don’t know that I will have an answer if my children ever wonder why they weren’t born out of my womb.  But here is what I can, and will, say:  “You formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.  I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. (Ps. 139:13,14)”  I will tell my children that God knit them together in their birth mother’s womb, and His work resulted in two wonderfully made human beings.  I will tell them that I praise God for His creation of two such beautiful and precious children.  “My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth.  Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me. (v15,16)”  I will tell my little ones that, while I may not have been present throughout their birth mother’s pregnancy, God was.  He was right there, forming every little part of their bodies.  

Oh, God.  I pray that You will comfort our children with the truth of Your Word, just as You have comforted me.  Give me wisdom to know when our babes are ready to discuss such issues, and protect their little hearts.  Thank You for forming such beautiful, wonderful children; and placing them in our family.  You are the One who establishes families, and it is a marvelous thing!

