Foodie Friday: Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

Welcome to Foodie Friday!

Foodie Friday

 Read on for a deliciously easy sandwich recipe – lunch, anyone?

I don’t know about you, but when Tim and I are at home on the weekends, I struggle to find good lunch recipes.  I’m all for a tasty sandwich, but having the same thing over and over again just gets boring!  I happened upon this jalapeño popper grilled cheese sandwich recipe from Bob & Carlene over at bsinthekitchen.com, and couldn’t pass up the opportunity to try it.

First, I mixed the cream cheese mixture together.  It consisted of cream cheese (duh) with ranch dressing and dried chives.  Now, I know this is not super healthy, so I lightened it up a bit by using reduced fat ingredients!

Foodie Friday: Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese

Next, since I didn’t have a grill to roast my peppers on, I just used the stovetop and it worked just fine.

Foodie Friday: Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Instead of using dehydrated tomatoes, I just sliced a piece and put it on my sandwich, topped with the cream cheese mixture, my “roasted” jalapenos and shredded cheese (made with 2% milkfat- really tryin’ here!).  I only lightly buttered the slices of bread, grilled on the stove, and voilá!

Foodie Friday: Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

My deliciously easy grilled cheese sandwich – the perfect weekend lunch recipe, in my opinion.  Do you have a go-to sandwich recipe that you just love? I would love some more ideas for easy (and healthy-ish) mid-day meals!

 

