The Journey

20130922_074249

In my most raw moments throughout this adoption process, I have questioned God as to why He allows us to go through such a difficult and lengthy journey to bring home our children.  “You are the God who parted the Red Sea and gave sight to the blind and rose the dead to life, You surely have the power to speed up this process!”  “You are the God who gave existence to all things, and You are the God who holds all the power and resources in the universe, surely You could just give us one lump-sum of money to finance this adoption!”  (By the way, interested in donating to our efforts? Click the Donate button on the sidebar or shoot me an email at honeybeekurtz@gmail.com!)

 “Why not, God?”

As I pondered these questions – among others – the other day, truth from God’s Word came to me.  I know it was His Spirit, whispering encouragement into my wearied soul; wearied from full-time work, an overload of GREAT information on how to parent my children, and a few weeks’ worth of struggling to fill out paperwork. This is the truth that He tenderly spoke to me as I questioned Him: “I {God} love you, and I am molding you into the image of My Son as I take you through this process, and I am walking through it with you.  On top of that, in this way, I am also showing you how to parent My children whom I am entrusting  to you.”

As God walks with me through the wearisome journey, He is showing me how to walk with my children through their pain, loss, and grief.

Oh, God, that you would speed up this process, strengthen me to complete the paperwork  (who’s been praying, by the way, because I have done more paperwork in the last two days than in all the weeks prior! THANK YOU) and do the fundraising (t-shirt fundraiser soon!), mold me more and more into Your likeness, that I would be equipped to guide our children through all that they have experienced in their young lives!  And thank you.  Thank You, God, that you are accomplishing these things, and You will continue to do so, because You. are. faithful.

“Since then we have a great high priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus, the Son of God,let us hold fast our confession.  For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin.  Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.” – Hebrews 4:14-16
