Foodie Friday: Cauliflower Crust Pizza

Welcome to another round of Foodie Friday!!  I’m so glad you’re here.  Tonight, our recipe is a GLUTEN FREE one, and a rather tasty one at that!  Continue as you please…

Okay, well, can I just start out by saying that today has not been my day?  Work stress and operating on 3 1/2 hours of sleep do not mix well.  And no, I don’t know why I couldn’t sleep last night, but I couldn’t.  I definitely needed that nap after work tonight!  Upon waking, I was extremely excited about making dinner with my husband, taking pictures, and sharing the experience with you (you fine individual, you).  But, of course, after this day and after writing this post last night, I think I was doomed for failure.  But more on that later!  For now, let’s see what delectable tastiness is in store for you! I found the recipe  from Serena’s blog, Domesticate Me, and I am so much a fan of it that I’ve made it twice in the last two weeks.  Twice.   Are you ready to find out what it is?!

Foodie Friday: Cauliflower Crust Pizza recipe

{Trust me, the cauliflower was a much better option for the above image than displaying a photo of the pizza itself.}

You can go here for the recipe, and know that the recipe for the crust was found here.  And you should check both of those links out, even if just to see the amazing photos taken by these ladies!  I’m impressed, Serena and Jessica, and inspired. I’m also blaming my camera for the not-as-impressive quality of my food pictures, FYI. 🙂

As of late, I have been employing the help of my dear husband, and we’ve had a lot of fun making our dinners together.  {You can read that as: I am having fun making our dinners together.  My husband is a good sport, though, and I don’t think he minds too much!}  He helped me tonight by squeezing out the water in the cauliflower I had just pureed in the blender.

Foodie Friday: cauliflower crust pizza

After this step, I added the cheeses, spices, and water-less cauliflower to my mixing bowl.  The cauliflower pretty much resembled mashed potatoes, in my opinion!

Foodie Friday: cauliflower crust pizza

So far, so good, right?  But just wait.  After I mixed in the egg and was ready to roll out the crust, I realized I didn’t have parchment paper…so I used aluminum foil for my crust.  USE THE PARCHMENT PAPER, FOLKS.  

Case in point – this is what I ended up with after my pizza was finished:

Foodie Friday: Cauliflower crust pizza

After my tiring, stressed out day, I just had to laugh at this point as I realized that not only are my foodie pictures not on par with the rest of the food photography world (it’s the camera :P), but I failed epically in my cooking episode tonight.  And you know what?  That’s okay, because the food still tasted great, and it gave me something entertaining to write about.  So I’ll enjoy my poorly photographed, messy-though-altogether-delicious GLUTEN FREE pizza, and you can do me a favor by trying it for yourself!

Foodie Friday: cauliflower crust pizza

P.S. Do you have any quasi-recipe disaster stories to share?

