Making Comparisons

Making Comparisons | Journey of Faith | comparing yourself to others

She is incredibly talented, and it seems as though everything she touches turns to gold.  She makes beauty out of the ordinary, her clothes are always so well put-together, and she is immensely beautiful even without doing her hair or applying make-up.  Do you have one of these friends in your life?  I am blessed to be surrounded by ladies like this, ladies who {on my good days} inspire me, encourage me, and cause me to rejoice with gratitude that I have the privilege of knowing such beautiful, talented people.  But alas, not all days are “good” days for me in this sense, and I often find myself comparing who I am and what I can do with other women – especially the ones I know.  I size myself up against these individuals and, according to my measurements, fall dreadfully short.

 What am I doing – more importantlywhat am I expressing to God when I make such comparisons?

  •  When I compare myself to others, I am forgetting who the standard is.  Jesus Christ is my Standard, and how humbling it is to remember this truth!  If I feel inferior to other humans whom God has created – humans who are flawed – imagine what it is like to see myself in light of Christ, Perfection Himself.  In His holy and unblemished presence, all are brought low.  For none can measure up to His perfection, and apart from His grace, no one even seeks Him.
  • When I compare myself to others, I am not praising God for the diverse and creative ways in which He has made my fellow man.  Instead, I am fostering an attitude of jealousy, discontent, and envy.  Yikes.  If that isn’t a swift recipe for disaster, I don’t know what is!
  • When I compare myself to others, I am not praising God for the unique and creative ways in which  He has made me.  No, I do not have the world’s most amazing wardrobe, and I am in the beginning stages of learning how to take semi-decent food pictures and write tasteful, encouraging {and hopefully practical/useful} articles, but you know what?  God has made me with a certain set of passions, talents, and abilities that no one else has, and I want to praise Him for it!  I may not be a fashion guru, but I LOVE thinking about the cute clothes in which we will dress our children.  I might not take amazing photos, but I so enjoy learning new skills and having the freedom to try!  My blog posts probably won’t ever be anything more than a collection of stories from our life, but they tell the story of a couple who has been graced with the very presence of God Himself.  I love sharing that story, the one in which He is the main character, and we His instruments of grace.  May I be able to say, and really believe this truth, spoken beautifully by George MacDonald: “I would rather be what God chose to make me than the most glorious creature I can think of, for to have been thought about, born in God’s thought, and then made by God is the dearest, grandest and most precious thing in all thinking.”  Yes, to be thought of and created by God’s will is a truth most precious!
  • When I compare myself to others, I fail to recognize how ignorant I am of the lives others lead.  Oh, sure, I see her in public and she’s all “put together”, beautiful and smiling and talented.  But I have no idea what the story of her life is behind closed doors.  May I be ever aware that the people who surround me are real humans, with their own set of struggles and life stressors, and may I live with awareness and compassion toward my fellow man.
  • When I compare myself to others, I am not savoring the redemption of Christ in me.  Instead of rejoicing in the fact that He has saved me by His own good pleasure, brought me to salvation through Jesus Christ, the living Word and God in the flesh, I point my finger and say, “God, why? Why can’t I be like her?”  WHY DO I DO THIS?!  God, in His infinite wisdom and out of His immeasurable grace, has made me His child.  I am redeemed!  Why do I so often focus on what I think I should have or be like, instead of relishing in the most humbling and beautiful truth of all – I am a child of the King.

How do you respond when you find yourself making comparisons with others?  What lessons has God taught you through this struggle, and what verses from Scripture encourage you to not make comparisons?

“Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ.  For if anyone thinks he is something, when he is nothing, he deceives himself.  But let each one test his own work, and then his reason to boast will be in himself alone and not in his neighbor.  For each will have to bear his own load…And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.  So then, as we have opportunity, let us do good to everyone…” -Galatians 6:2-5,9-10
