The Power of His Resurrection

10 Scriptures Regarding the Resurrection:

1. If the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, he who raised Christ Jesus from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through his Spirit who dwells in you. -Romans 8:11

The same Spirit of God who raised Christ from the dead lives inside me, and because He has risen, I know that He will also raise me at the last day!  Praise Him!

2. No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.  For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.  -Romans 8:37-39

Though not directly related to the resurrection, this passage speaks of Christ’s power, nonetheless!  Because I know that He is the all-powerful One (He who arose from the grave), I am confident that absolutely nothing can separate me from His love.  NOTHING and NO ONE can take away Christ from me, nor I from Him.  I am His, He is mine, and this is eternally fixed! 

3. And if Christ has not been raised, your faith is futile and you are still in your sins. -1 Corinthians 15:17

On the flip side, had He not risen, I would be forever stuck in the snare of my sins.  But He did rise, and I am free!  Free from my sins, free to live for the One who ransomed me.

4. But the words “it was counted to him” were not written for his sake alone, but for ours also. It will be counted to us who believe in him who raised from the dead Jesus our Lord, who was delivered up for our trespasses and raised for our justification. -Romans 4:24,25

The resurrection is a reminder that, once for all, it is finished.  The price has been paid, and the wrath of God has been satisfied in Jesus Christ, and I have been given His righteousness.  Glory, hallelujah.

5. But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ—by grace you have been saved—and raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, so that in the coming ages he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. -Ephesians 2:4-7

There is much to look forward to, brothers and sisters.  {And it’s as good as done in His book.}

6. Just as we have borne the image of the man of dust, we shall also bear the image of the man of heaven. -1 Corinthians 15:49

Just as we have borne Adam’s (the man of dust) image, we in Christ will bear the Savior’s (the man of heaven) image!

7. Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! According to his great mercy, he has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance that is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you, who by God’s power are being guarded through faith for a salvation ready to be revealed in the last time. -1 Peter 1:3-5

A living hope that is being guarded by the all-powerful God, who raises the dead.

8. And God raised the Lord and will also raise us up by his power. -1 Corinthians 6:14

God will fulfill His purpose for me; namely, to raise me up with Christ at the last day.  He will do it.

9. For you will not abandon my soul to Sheol, or let your holy one see corruption. -Psalm 16:10

Because God did not abandon Christ in the grave, and because He lives inside of me, I can be confident that He will not abandon me to the grave!  He is committed to accomplishing His purpose for me.

10. The times of ignorance God overlooked, but now he commands all people everywhere to repent, because he has fixed a day on which he will judge the world in righteousness by a man whom he has appointed; and of this he has given assurance to all by raising him from the dead. -Acts 17:30,31

The resurrection of Christ reminds me that the day is coming where all mankind will be judged by Him, and only those who are found in Him will be able to stand. Rest in the sufficiency of Christ.

new birth in Christ

click on photo for image source

 

