In the Morning

I usually love mornings.  Witnessing the creativity of God as I watch the sunrise, sipping my morning coffee, jogging outdoors before work and rejoicing in what God has made – this world and all that it contains, this body of mine that can run and breathe and sing to the Creator.  I love my mornings and the familiar routine that goes along with them.  Lately, however, this portion of the day has not been met with such joy.  Instead, anxiety grips my heart and fear settles in as I count off the seemingly neverending list of “to-do’s” for the day.  My heart is not filled with peace, and I prayerfully plead with the Father to comfort my timid heart.

As this new morning routine has settled in – one filled with fearful apprehension and humble, pleading prayers – it has begun to overtake my once joy-filled day, and I find myself running to the Word for encouragement.  Isn’t that one of the purposes of Scripture, after all?  As Romans 15:4 says, “For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope.”   But what hope is to be found in the morning, when the events of the day are as of yet unknown and the task list is lengthy and I know who I am, weak and fearful and uncapable of doing anything worthy apart from Him?  As I dig into Scripture for clarity and encouragement,  I find my answer: there is living hope to be found, hope eternal and sure!

Lamentations 3:21-23 says, “Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope: Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail.  They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.”  Against the backdrop of a lament over God’s judgment on Israel, this verse soaks the soul in hope.  For His mercies are new.  Every morning, they are new.  {And He is faithful.}  So when I lay my head on my pillow at night, and the anxiety starts to creep up, seeking to make its home in my heart as I ponder what befalls me in the morning, this I can remember: His mercies are new EVERY morning, and because of His great love and faithfulness, I can be assured of this truth.  Hope that is sure.

King David found sure hope in remembering this truth, found in Psalm 139:18- “…when I awake, I am still with you.”  In the morning, I am still with Him, and He with me.  No need to fear, for the ever Faithful One is always by my side and keeps me in His presence.  Living hope, eternal hope!

In Job 38:12, God speaks to Job and reminds him of His essence: “Have you ever given orders to the morning, or shown the dawn its place…”  He is Creator God, Most High over all.  He is the One who gives orders even to the sunrise.  What a great reminder as I gaze upon the beauty of each new day – God has set each day in its place, and He has set my days in their place.  Yes, I can rest in His power, in His plan.

A final reminder of hope that can be found in the morning, and throughout every moment of every day, and for all eternity is found in Revelation 22:16-17, which proclaims this truth: “I, Jesus, have sent my angel to give you this testimony for the churches. I am the Root and the Offspring of David, and the bright Morning Star.”  The Spirit and the bride say, “Come!” And let the one who hears say, “Come!” Let the one who is thirsty come; and let the one who wishes take the free gift of the water of life.”  The morning star is Christ Himself.  I love, love, LOVE the imagery of this title given to Jesus.  I adore the fact that as I’ve wrestled with morning time and have turned to scripture, this is what I find – my Savior, the bright Morning Star.  As Matthew Henry states aptly in his commentary on these verses, regarding Christ: “He brings day with him into the soul, the light of grace and of glory.”  JUST YES.  Yes, He does.  And Jesus Christ, the bright Morning Star, He  is the living hope for my soul and for my morning routine and for all my days, hope eternal and sure!

In the morning

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.” -Hebrews 12:1&2

 

 

