Saturday Morning Date: Breakfast & Frolf

As Tim and I prepare for vocational ministry, as well as parenthood (adoption post to come as soon as I trudge through the rest of the paperwork fyi!), we see the necessity for purposefully setting aside time each week for date nights.  However, due to my full-time workload, and Tim’s busy work schedule as of late on top of his studies, we haven’t had time or energy to devote an evening a week to spend quality time with one another.  We have felt the effects of this keenly, and so, thanks to the great advice of my dear mother, we have instituted Saturday MORNING dates!!!  Today was our initiation of this new tradition for us, and I cannot begin to tell you how much I we needed it.  There is something to be said for weekly dates with your spouse, and I’m so thankful for my mother’s kind advice.  Do you find it difficult to devote time and/or energy to a weekly date night with your husband or wife?  I highly recommend you give Saturday A.M.’s a try; they’re grand fun!

To my darling husband,

As we drove to breakfast this morning, I could already sense my spirit being strengthened for the events of the day.  God has given you to me so that we can encourage one another in our mutual faith in our magnificent Lord and Savior, and the activity of conversing with you, dining with you, and making fun memories with you was a HUGE encouragement to me.  I can’t explain it fully, but as I thought about going home to cook and clean and work on adoption “stuff” and other miscellaneous activities, I was excited in a way that I haven’t been in weeks.  Thank you for taking time to be with me, love.  It’s great fun, being your other half.

Breakfast at Panera was a smashing success, as we shared deliciousness, prayed together over the burdens of our hearts, and talked.

Saturday Date Idea

And frolf!  Frolf on our nearby university’s campus was the perfect post-breakfast activity!  Despite the wind and my sub-par frisbee golf skills, I so enjoyed my time with you.  I won’t even mention the fact that I won, dear, such a good sport am I. 😉

Saturday Date Idea

And aren’t we so glad that, as Spring moves toward its end, the trees are FINALLY starting to bud and flourish!!!  (What a strange few seasons it’s been for us.  Let’s move South someday!)

Saturday Date Idea

Thank you, also, for the mini-photo shoot you obliged me at the end of our date in front of the beautiful foliage.  I know that’s not always your favorite. 🙂

Saturday Date idea

I adore you, my man, and I look forward to many more adventurous Saturday excursions with you!

Saturday Date idea

What are some fun, weekend activities that you and your spouse like to do? (Besides you-know-what!)

