Foodie Friday: Tomato Bruschetta

If you’ve ever seen the movie Julie & Julia, you might remember the scene where Julie makes bruschetta.  Every time I watch that film – which is often, as it’s one of my favorites – my mouth waters over the tastiness of that meal.  Needless to say, I was ecstatic when I found the recipe recently!  And because it’s the perfect time to start thinking about all those fabulous tomato dishes you’ll be making soon, I wanted to share the recipe with you for this week’s Foodie Friday.  So glad you’re here!

This dish is easy as pie, and perfect for a light weeknight meal or as a side dish/appetizer!  Hope you like tomatoes.  But even if you don’t, never fear, for even my husband, the tomato-hating man, ADORES this meal.  Now that’s sayin’ somethin’!

Foodie Friday: Tomato Bruschetta

I did not toast my bread in the oven because, well because the movie makes the fried stuff look sooo good.  Since my bread was already pretty crusty to begin with, I only kept it on the stove for a few minutes.  (In the picture below, the center one is how mine looked when done.)  Also, instead of rubbing the garlic clove on the bread, I just sautéed minced garlic with the oil in my frying pan.  Turned out perfectly!

Foodie Friday: Tomato Bruschetta

After my tomatoes-basil-olive oil-salt and pepper mixture had been sitting for a while (I usually let it sit for 30-45 minutes), and my toast was ready, it was time for hubby and me to dig in to this yummy treat!  (Foodie Tip: to add some extra flavor, we like to put some freshly shredded mozarella cheese on top of our bruschetta.)

Foodie Friday: Tomato Bruschetta

Foodie Friday: Tomato Bruschetta

Do you have a favorite summertime meal to share?  Let’s swap recipes!

 

