Weekend Getaway!

Weekend Getaway: Louisville
My Love, We celebrated the end of your first year at SBTS by heading to Louisville for a quick, weekend trip to campus!  As always, I had a blast with you and took waaay too many pictures in a desperate attempt to freeze moments in time. (It was unsuccessful.  Time marches on!) On the car ride down there, we drove past farm after farm, and I was – to my surprise – grateful that we live in the Midwest.  It really does hold a certain amount of beauty, I think.

Weekend Getaway: Louisville
Weekend Getaway: Louisville
Once we arrived at our destination, you were so excited to show me around Southern and point out every building you’d been to when you were here earlier in the semester.  I loved seeing your excitement, and hope you’ll do this with me every year!  Also, BONUS: you go to a school that is simply BEAUTIFUL this time of year!

Weekend Getaway: Louisville
Weekend Getaway: Louisville
Weekend Getaway: Louisville
(I’m glad I got these shots of you, handsome man!)
Weekend Getaway: Louisville
Weekend Getaway: Louisville
Weekend Getaway: Louisville
Weekend Getaway: Louisville
We tried to peek into one of your classrooms, and I imagined what you must have experienced when you were the student, sitting  in one of those seats and soaking up all that information!

Weekend Getaway: Louisville
During our fabulous weekend road trip, we also managed to sneak in some hiking (which I hear you’re not a big fan of).

Weekend Getaway: Louisville
We saw lots of beauty in nature and admired God’s handiwork,

Weekend Getaway: Louisville
Weekend Getaway: Louisville
Weekend Getaway: Louisville
And we had fun taking turns as the photographer (at least, I did!).

Weekend Getaway: Louisville
Weekend Getaway: Louisville
Weekend Getaway: Louisville
(And we found the creek. ;))

Weekend Getaway: Louisville

Weekend Getaway: Louisville
I, of course, also loved walking downtown with you and catching some gorgeous views of the River!

Weekend Getaway: Louisville
{Thank you, kind stranger, for *this* awesome shot.  One of my favorites!}

Weekend Getaway: Louisville
And then, just like that, our weekend was over, and it was time to go home.  I was sad, it was difficult to leave, but we came home together.  You and me.  And we left feeling rejuvenated, invigorated for what lies ahead as we continue to press on and- by God’s grace – bring our children home, and as you continue in your studies, and I continue at my job.  God has blessed us, beyond measure has He blessed us!  I thank Him for Jesus Christ, my Savior and Lord and the Great Motivator of my life.  I thank Him for beauty all around me, and for weekend trips that come at just the right time.  I thank Him for our beautiful, precious children who are ours by the grace of Him who has called us.  I thank Him for faithful preachers of His Word, gospel proclaimers who are unashamed and who boldly, humbly live out their faith in front of pupils and church members and the world.  I thank Him for my family and friends, encouragers who help me to press on toward the high calling of Christ.  And I thank Him for you, my dear.  For you, my leader, my man, co-adventurer and weekend road-tripper, and the one who points me every single day to the great Love of my soul, Jesus Christ.  Yes, I thank God for you, husband!

Weekend Getaway: Louisville P.S. And yes, I stayed up too late to write this post.

One thought on “Weekend Getaway!

Comments are closed.