Saturday Morning Date: Tennis

This morning’s activity of choice?  Tennis.

Saturday Morning Date: Tennis

Are we any good?  Not even close.  Tim definitely has some skill in the sport, as he played tennis in high school.  I, however,  never had the patience to learn.  And it does take patience.

We’ve tried to enjoy this activity together before.  Up until today, it hasn’t been much of a success.  Quite the opposite, in fact.  I was so horrible at the sport that it was painful to step out onto the court without worrying about what the other tennis players would say (or laugh at) when they saw me in all my horribleness.  I should’ve worn a t-shirt that said, “Please don’t laugh, I’ve never played tennis before.”  Or stopped caring so much about what others think (and they were probably more focused on themselves, anyway).  Today was different, though, as I fought the urge to give into that fear (it helped that there were only a few other people on the court, ha!), and that freed me up to simply focus on what I was doing.  Which allowed me to actually learn a few things, and try different techniques, and laugh when I looked silly or missed a serve.  Additionally, I realized that I wasn’t giving up so easily, the way that I would have done a year or two ago.   I’ve finally reached the point in my life where I realize that learning new things -whatever those things may be- takes time.  And persistence.  And resolve.

I noticed a difference in my husband this morning as well.  He is a natural-born teacher, and when he has knowledge or skill, he loves to share it with others! I so love this aspect about him.  And while he has always been rather patient and sweet with me in teaching me new things, like tennis, today I noticed that he is continuing to grow in his ability to teach well.  Which, in turn, helps me in my ability to learn and apply what he explains to me.

And as I watched him teach this morning, I got all giddy thinking about when our children are home with us, and thinking of the ways that Daddy will teach them well. And when we are in vocational ministry, Lord-willing, thinking of how Tim will teach his church family well and to the glory of God.  Thinking about these things are just about enough to make me burst with joy! {For.Real.} It’s amazing to me that, as my husband grows in his ability to teach me seemingly “non-important” things such as how to play tennis, the Lord is shaping him into being a well-equipped father and pastor.  This is beautiful to me.

Saturday Morning Date: Tennis

So this morning wasn’t just about tennis, or even just about spending some quality time together (athough it included both of those things). The great beauty of this morning reminded me that we are not the same people we were when we gave this activity a try a few summers ago. No, we are quite different.  Our lives have changed drastically in these past two years, and God in His grace has faithfully continued to mold us more and more into the image of Christ.  And as I played tennis with my sweet husband this morning, I caught a glimpse of a few ways that He has accomplished this, and I marveled at the fact that this change He is creating in us is of such a nature that it even affects the way we go about playing sports.  This.is.awesome.  It’s awesome, because it means that (God-willing) others might be able to catch a glimpse of the Heavenly in us even as we play.  This.is.glorious.  It’s glorious, because it gives great purpose and meaning to even such activities as tennis.  And it’s all because of the One who is producing the character of Christ in us!  He.is.awesome.and.glorious.

I heartily commend an activity like this for you and your spouse, and I hope it gives you beautiful reminders of how God is shaping the both of you as you live life together, for His glory!

C:\Users\Kurtz\Pictures\Tennis\IMG_8745.JPG

“In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven.” -Matthew 5:16

 

3 thoughts on “Saturday Morning Date: Tennis

Comments are closed.