Foodie Friday: Caprese Sandwich with Pesto

Ohmygoodness.  How have I gone this long without ever having tried PESTO?!?  It’s amazing.  I love it. And because I’ve just recently discovered it, and I happen to really like it, I wanted to share a delicious and super easy pesto-y recipe with you for this week’s Foodie Friday!  {Welcome.}

Foodie Friday: Caprese Sandwiches with Pesto

This week’s recipe hails from Jessica over at Jessiker Bakes; you can find it here.  I was excited to try it, because – as I mentioned above – it looked ridiculously yummy and simple to make!  AND I LOVE SIMPLE.  {And yummy.}  In order to make this sandwich taste *really* savory, read on for a few foodie pointers!

Foodie Tip #1: I’ve determined that the key to any really good sandwich is the bread.  Jimmy Johns is a great example of this point, in my opinion.  I think the same definitely applies here.  So imagine my delight when I realized that Pay Less’s bakery has this amazing multi-grain French bread that tastes the way all bread should, I think.  Crusty on the outside, but soft and chewy on the inside. Yuuummm.

Foodie Friday: Caprese Sandwiches with Pesto

Foodie Tip #2: Since my husband isn’t so much a fan of tomatoes, I was trying to figure out what I could add to the sandwich to accompany the mozzarella and pesto, and then I remembered another key ingredient to any truly great sandwich: bacon.  When in doubt, add bacon (it’s sorta becoming like a foodie motto of mine).  And yes, it’s amazing.

Foodie Friday: Caprese Sandwiches with Pesto

Foodie Tip #3: Now, for the pesto.  I have a confession.  I did not make the parsley pesto called for in the recipe (gasp!).  Instead, I hunted (HUN.TED) in the store for any halfway decent looking pesto, and came upon some basil pesto.  It happened to be the perfect kind of pesto for this sandwich, as it gave it a bruschetta-esque taste.  And I love bruschetta.

Foodie Friday: Caprese Sandwiches with Pesto

And there you have it.  Three easy ways to turn a tasty caprese sandwich into a simply scrumptious affair!  Hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Foodie Friday: Caprese Sandwiches with Pesto

Foodie Friday: Caprese Sandwiches with Pesto

Do you have a good pesto recipe?  Please do share! 🙂

One thought on “Foodie Friday: Caprese Sandwich with Pesto

Comments are closed.