Writing For Your Comfort

Writing For Your Comfort

I have been giving my blog more and more thought, as of late, as I continue to share my stories with you.  “What is my ultimate aim?” I ponder as I record the events of our lives.  “What is the central purpose for this blog, and how does {this post} seek to reflect that overarching goal?” It is the question that has been going through my head lately as my fingers type furiously with each post.

With these inquiries running through my overstuffed brain (lots of thoughts and ideas here, folks. it’s quite overwhelming), I have run boldly to the King for direction, for guidance. This morning, as I spent some time in the Word, I was joyfully surprised to find an answer.

“For even when we came into Macedonia, our bodies had no rest, but we were afflicted at every turn–fighting without and fear within.  But God, who comforts the downcast, comforted us by the coming of Titus, and not only by his coming but also by the comfort with which he was comforted by you…”-2 Corinthians 7:5-7a

The above passage gives me reason to believe that, as Paul recounted to the Corinthians one of his encounters, he was overwhelmed.  Certainly, from the passage, I see that he was physically exhausted and “afflicted at every turn–fighting without and fear within.” (Fear.  Even the men we esteem as great in faith -which, they were- even they dealt with fear.)  But God.  God, who Himself is a comforter to the weary and burdened and low in spirit, comforted Paul by bringing Titus to him.  In addition to that, Paul was further comforted by the encouraging news regarding the Corinthians that Titus gave to him during his visit (2 Cor. 7:7b).

From this Scripture, I learn a profound truth: one of the ways in which God comforts His people is through His people.  Paul was strengthened by Titus’ visit.  This was the comfort of God.  Another awesome reminder that I believe can be gleaned from this passage is that God also uses the recounting of others’ stories to comfort His people.  In other words, what I notice here is that, even though the Corinthians were not present with Paul in his time of distress, they brought great encouragement to him.  This was the comfort of God.

Friend, I pray that you have many Tituses in your life.  People who, through their presence and words, can provide you comfort as you walk through life.  I want to be a Titus for the people in my life, certainly.  What a great privilege to be used by God in this way!

But what about those of you whom I may never meet face-to-face?  How can I encourage and comfort you?  I believe {and hope} that I can do so by sharing my stories.

The central purpose for this blog is to seek to provide the comfort of God for you, the reader, as I recount stories from my life, to the glory of God and for the building up of His kingdom.

I pray that as I talk about Saturday morning dates and road trips with my dear husband, you are comforted by what we are learning along the way.

I pray that as I share foodie photos and recipes, you are comforted in remembering some of the good gifts that God graciously bestows upon the people He has made.

I pray that as I recount the ups and downs of the adoption process, you are comforted by the knowledge that God is changing the world through ordinary people such as us (and you can change the world, too).

I pray that in all these stories and more, you {dear reader} are comforted, encouraged (1 Thess. 5:11), built up (Eph. 15-16, 29), and pointed to Christ (Heb. 1:1-4), Who is the Treasure (Matt. 13:44).

“…but these have been written so that you may believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God; and that believing, you may have life in His name.” -John 20:31

