Saturday Morning Date: The Zoo

Need a fun and cheap idea for a date?  Head to the zoo with your honey!  That’s what we did yesterday for our Saturday morning date, and we had a blast. {I will add, however, that while I would not necessarily consider myself a PETA-type person; it seemed a little weird to me and kinda sad to admire animals in cages.  Just sayin’…}

For this date, I decided to spend a little extra time beforehand to get ready for my man.  I picked out a summer dress to wear and did my hair.  And while you may not notice anything spectacular about my tresses (besides the fact that I am way overdue for a cut and color!), it took me a good 45 minutes before it looked the way it does in the picture below.  LONG, THICK HAIR IS OVER-RATED, FOLKS. {I’ll be saying that till I’m 40.}  But, I digress.  I dressed up for my husband, and he admired me, and it was totally worth it.

Saturday Morning Date: The Zoo

Before our adventure at the zoo, we headed over to Panera and shared what is possibly the world’s most delicious cinnamon roll.  It was gone shortly after this photo was taken. 😉

Saturday Morning Date: The Zoo

And then the zoo…

We walked past children’s rides and wondered out loud if our kids will be young enough for such amusing contraptions as toy helicopters once we bring them home. {I hope so.}

Saturday Morning Date: The Zoo

We laughed at silly wallabies, and admired beautiful butterflies.

Saturday Morning Date: The Zoo

Saturday Morning Date: The Zoo

Saturday Morning Date: The Zoo

We saw gibbons and goats,

Saturday Morning Date: The Zoo

Saturday Morning Date: The Zoo

Saturday Morning Date: The Zoo

and marveled at otters as they swam above our heads.

Saturday Morning Date: The Zoo

Saturday Morning Date: The Zoo

Saturday Morning Date: The Zoo

We witnessed the creativity of God not only in His creation of such interesting varieties of animals, but also in seeing the beauty of the foliage all around us. Yup, we like flowers, and we heartily echo J. Calvin’s sentiment: “There is not one blade of grass, there is no color in this world that is not intended to make us rejoice.”  {What a beautiful world You have made, God.  You made it perfect, and then our sin destroyed it.  But even in its brokenness, we see Your glory shining through.}

Saturday Morning Date: The Zoo

Saturday Morning Date: the Zoo

Saturday Morning Date: The Zoo

Saturday Morning Date: The Zoo

We enjoyed ourselves by actin’ silly, made a few {failed} attempts to get a picture of ourselves with our otter friends, and savored the few hours we had to enjoy one another’s company before we ventured back to reality and a laundry list of things to get done.

Saturday Morning Date: the Zoo

Saturday Morning Date: the Zoo

Saturday Morning Date: The Zoo

But before you look through our photos any further – images that depict a seemingly perfect marriage and a daydream world filled with butterflies and cinnamon rolls made to perfection – before you conclude that our relationship has no foibles or strain…  please, please remember: I do not post the pictures of our disagreements, disagreements that frequently end in tears and anger before they end in peaceful resolution and a restored relationship.  I am not so very open as to share all of  his faults or mine.  And through our Saturday morning dates, we have been reminded: marriage is sort of hard sometimes!, we are broken people, and the victory we have is in Christ, Him alone.  We are the redeemed in Christ who daily battle against the flesh that wages war against our souls, and the victory is achieved through His Spirit at work within us (Gal. 5:16-18).  And as I share with you dating ideas and stories from our little part of the world, my hope is that you would see what is most glorious and beautiful about our marriage; namely, Christ.  More than retrieving suggestions for dates (which are GOOD, and which I hope you do find!), I hope you see Him.  He is our Redeemer, Victor, King.  He is Master, Teacher, Sustainer of souls and yes, of marriages too!

“For through the Spirit, by faith, we ourselves eagerly wait for the hope of righteousness.  For in Christ Jesus neither circumcision nor uncircumcision counts for anything, but only faith working through love.” – Galatians 5: 5&6
