Christ, the Treasure

Christ the treasureThere was a time when I mistakenly believed that Tim and I only had a praiseworthy marriage if the circumstances were just right.  Only so long as he expressed his love to me in his actions, gave me the best of his time and energy on date nights and pursued me with great passion and intimacy, was I able to rejoice in our union.  Or so I thought.  Because while these were all good and, I would contend, rightful  things to desire for my relationship with my husband – intimacy within marriage is good, after all; open, honest, and frequent 2-way communication is good; romance is good! – it was so NOT good, and even sinful, when I elevated the circumstances above simply treasuring my husband.  My, my, how I wish I could take back some of those nights where I was not happy to be with him because he was tired or not romantic enough for me; those evenings when I sulked because I thought he wasn’t displaying his love to me in his actions.  What I would {give} to take back those selfish nights in which I missed out on opportunities to extend love, grace, & forgiveness to my husband – to be a picture, albeit a very dim one, of Jesus Christ to my man.

On the other hand, how very thankful and humbled I am for what God, in his grace and by way of His Spirit, is teaching me about marriage.

I am learning that, while it is good to desire Christ the treasureintimacy, communication, and romance with Tim; these things must not take the place of him.  In other words, I must not forget that what makes the intimacy so wonderful is my husband!  What makes the communication so sweet is this man beside me!  What makes romance so awesome is that it is romance with him.  I am being taught, by God’s grace, that my husband is to be adored and treasured above a set of circumstances.  This allows me to rejoice over him, and remain thankful for our union, on those occasions where he is more tired than usual or not up for a  two hour heart-to-heart chat.  This truth, among others, frees me to just love my husband for who he is and not for what he brings to the table.  And it makes those times of romance and intimacy all the more special, because I recognize that it is he who makes them so!

And the lesson doesn’t stop there; no, it must not, in fact!  For if I simply laid a-hold of the principle that I am to love and treasure my husband above the circumstances surrounding our relationship, I might forget the more important truth behind this lesson and give into an idolatrous view of my husband and our marriage. But praise God!  that the end of our marriage is Christ Himself, the very purpose of our marriage is to point each other (and those around us) to our Savior, to remind us of the relationship between Christ, the Bridegroom and the Church, His bride.

The more important lesson here is that, in much the same way as I am to treasure my husband above the gifts that our relationship bring (intimacy, communication, romance, and many other things beside), so I am to treasure CHRIST above all the other gifts that He has secured for me in bringing me into relationship with God.  In much the same way as I love my husband, but to an infinitely greater extent, am I to love and adore Jesus Christ, my Savior. 

Because Christ is the ultimate Gift!!  He is the greatest Treasure of all that I possess!  In fact, all the gifts point to Him as the chief end of my joy and my delight!  Everything that I have not only comes from Him but is meant to lead me to worship Him; not simply for what He gives me, but ultimately for who He is.  Christ is the Treasure of my soul.  This far greater truth frees me to worship Him and remain thankful always, even when I do not perceive any gift beside Him.  Even in the trenches of hardship and suffering.  Because I have Him, I have the greatest Treasure of all, and because of His faithfulness, I can never ever lose Him!  {This} is what leads my soul to rejoice and sing along with the hymn writer of old:

O LORD my God, when I in awesome wonder consider all the worlds Thy Hands have made;
I see the stars, I hear the rolling thunder, Thy power throughout the universe displayed.
Then sings my soul, my Savior God, to Thee; How great Thou art, how great Thou art!
Then sings my soul, my Savior God, to Thee; How great Thou art, how great Thou art!

When through the woods and forest glades I wander,
And hear the birds sing sweetly in the trees.
When I look down from lofty mountain grandeur, And see the brook, and feel the gentle breeze;
Then sings my soul, my Savior God, to Thee; How great Thou art, how great Thou art!
Then sings my soul, my Savior God, to Thee; How great Thou art, how great Thou art!

And when I think of God, His Son not sparing, sent Him to die – I scarce can take it in;
That on the cross, my burden gladly bearing, He bled and died to take away my sin.
Then sings my soul, my Savior God, to Thee; How great Thou art, how great Thou art!
Then sings my soul, my Savior God, to Thee; How great Thou art, how great Thou art!

When Christ shall come with shout of acclamation,
And take me home – what joy shall fill my heart!
Then I shall bow in humble adoration And there proclaim: “My God, how great Thou art!”
Then sings my soul, my Savior God, to Thee; How great Thou art, how great Thou art!
Then sings my soul, my Savior God, to Thee; How great Thou art, how great Thou art!

 My husband, Tim, is my treasured gift from God and is to be adored over the circumstances that our marriage brings.  Christ is my Treasure above all gifts, and He is to be adored above all.

Does my life reflect this desire that I proclaim with my words: “One thing have I asked of the LORD, that will I seek after: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD and to inquire in his temple.” (Psalm 27:4)  Does yours?

Christ the treasure

I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord…” ~Philippians 3:8
