Thankful.

It’s the night before Thanksgiving Day, and as this season of the year gives all of us some time for reflection, I thought I would share a few things that I am praising God for in 2014.  Here goes (in no particular order)…

I am Thankful for:

  • Green grass.  It’s gone, and I miss it.  Once the beautifully colored leaves of autumn fall from the trees, and the ground turns from green to brown, I find myself fondly reminiscent of lush, green grass.  I’m so thankful for the subtle beauty of green grass.
  • My job.  God dropped it in my lap, and I have been learning a lot over the past year about things I didn’t even know I would ever care about.  Things like clickthrough rate, website speed, and a myriad of other metrics that I won’t bore you over.  Suffice it to say, I am thankful for my job, and for the ability to learn and be stretched in new ways.
  • Seminary.  Arg.  It’s a love-hate relationship for me, really.  But bottom line?  Seminary is what allows my husband to learn more about who God is and how He has chosen to reveal Himself through Scripture, and it is a stepping stone (hopefully, maybe) for us into vocational ministry.  I’m giving his Greek professor the stink eye right now, but deep down, I’m truly thankful for seminary.  Truly.
  • Dallas, Bruno, Sadie, and Peyton.  Nope, not kids.  PETS.

Thankful | Journey of Faith

2 dogs, 2 cats.  I’m thankful for each of them!  One drags clothing around the house, another loves people better than most people love people (myself included), and the other two are just cute and actually like to be cuddled.  Er, sort of (the cats).

  • Friends.  I’m so, so thankful for the people God has brought into my life whom I have the privilege of calling “Friend”.  Friends who pray with me and for me, friends to write letters to when time and distance keeps us apart, friends to go shopping with, and friends to dine with….I’m so, so, SO thankful for my friends.
  • My Brothers.  They’re older than me, and taught me everything I know about sports.  Over the years, we made forts in the living room, and forts in the backyard. We watched Where the Red Fern Grows one too many times, and I survived the years in which my brothers thought “fun” meant picking on the little sister.  I’m thankful for these guys I get to call my brothers (and thankful that “fun” for them no longer means annoying me). 🙂
  • My Sister.  Thankful | Journey of FaithHer name is J.  She lives in Colorado, and I’m a terrible phone pal.  Like, the worst.  With my lack of communication (I do text and send pictures via email, fyi), I’m aware of just how truly absent she is from my life, and this causes me to a.) miss her greatly and b.) remain thankful that she is *my* sister.  We’ve trained for half-marathons together, shared each other’s burdens, borrowed one another’s clothing (sometimes without asking), and, well, grown up together!  I wouldn’t trade her for the world, and I’m so thankful for her.
  • My Parents.  They’re not perfect, and they made mistakes in parenting the four of us children, as every parent does.  But you know what?  My parents have been married now for over 30 years, and I have been given the privilege of witnessing what love and faithfulness to one’s spouse means in “the good times and the bad times, for richer or poorer, in sickness and in health, till death do us part.”  They might kill each other (kidding), but they won’t leave, and THAT has been a powerful testimony to see.  I’m thankful for my parents, and for their marriage.
  • Tim’s Parents.  They’re funny (so. funny.) and very different from my parents in a lot of ways.  They helped shape the man who is my husband, and also showed him a powerful testimony of love and faithfulness throughout the ups and downs of life.  They’ve welcomed me into their family as their very own daughter, and I’m so thankful for them.
  • My Children.  Somewhere in India live two precious kiddos who have the name Kurtz imprinted on their little hearts.  I don’t know anything about them, and have no idea when I will be able to meet them, but they’re mine.  I’m so thankful for the work God is doing to bring home my children, and I’m thankful for the ways that He is preparing us to be a family of four.
  • Tim.  Thankful | Journey of FaithHe’s the man I’ve prayed for all my life, and he’s the one who has proven to me that Ephesians 3:20 and 21 are true: God does immeasurably more than all I ask or imagine, for His glory.  Tim is also a beautiful shadow of Jesus Christ to me every single day, and I’m so humbled and grateful to be this guy’s wife!
  • Jesus.  The God-Man who came down to earth from the presence of the Father in heaven to rescue {me}, a sinner.  I cannot put into sufficient words or live in such a way that would portray accurately just how thankful I am that I can call Jesus my Lord and my Savior.  He’s Everything, and the Source of all my joy.  He is the purpose of my life, and the Redeemer of my soul.  He’s the Beginning and the End, and meeting Him face-to-face is the “End” that I have to look forward to someday.  I’m so thankful for God in the flesh – Jesus Christ.
What’s on your list this year?  What are you thankful for?
