Nothing Is Too Difficult

Nothing is too difficult | Journey of Faith

I can’t tell you how excited-anxious we were yesterday upon seeing that we’d received information regarding our I-800a application for the immigration of our children.  As I tore open the packet, my heart sank as I read that our application was regretfully rejected because – get this – we had forgotten to sign our signatures!!!!!!!!!!!  A silly mistake.  You might think that we were relieved it was such a minor misstep.  But no.

Nothing is too difficult | Journey of Faith
the night we filled out our I-800a application

Even in writing this, I feel more than a little embarrassed that we missed something so simple.  Careless that I didn’t notice the dotted line asking for our signed names, although I’m sure we must have looked over our application more than twice.  And after waiting a month to hear a response regarding this crucial next step in our adoption journey, both Tim and I are struggling to remain optimistic in this moment of frustration over our little mistake.  A “tiny” mishap that will cost us more time as we resubmit our application and wait.  Again.

So I’m thankful for this verse that has been running through my mind, the one I read the other day during my devotional time.  It is the verse that I can’t get out of my head:

Why did Sarah laugh and say, ‘Shall I indeed bear a child, now that I am old?’  Is anything too hard for the LORD? -Genesis 18:13

Is anything too hard for the LORD?  Anything?  

This adoption is too big for Tim and me to handle.  We’re too weak, too forgetful, too prone to miss the dotted lines in our excitement of being “one step closer” to having our children.  And in these situations that confront us in our human, mistake-filled efforts, we know that we cannot accomplish this task on our own.

But we are not alone.  God, the Almighty and gracious and Sovereign LORD of heaven and earth, is right here with us.

And He is totally in control.  All the time, He is in control.

And nothing, NOTHING, is too hard for Him.  There is nothing, NOTHING, that He cannot accomplish according to His good pleasure.

So, while this adoption is too big for us, it is not at all too big for our infinite God.  The God who is with us and for us, working out all things for our good and for His glory.

Therefore, we will sign our names on the application, we will turn it back in, and we will wait.  We will wait on God to bring our children to us in His timing.  We will trust in Him through the ups and downs of this crazy-awesome/stressful-but-so-worth-it adoption journey, and we will rely on Him each step of the way. (Help us, gracious Father.)  NOTHING is too difficult for God!

Will you join us in prayer that:

A.) we WON’T miss filling out any portion of upcoming paperwork and

B.) the waiting period for this resubmission of our immigration application will be shorter than the first time?

Thank you for joining us in this journey.  Each little step is bringing us closer to having our children, and we rejoice in what God is doing in our family.  It is for His glory and for His fame!

Sing to God, sing praises to his name; lift up a song to him who rides through the deserts; his name is the LORD; exult before Him!  Father of the fatherless and protector of widows is God in his holy habitation…Blessed be the Lord, who daily bears us up; God is our salvation. -Psalm 68:4-5, 19

