Fear Not, Because…

I’ve been wrestling with anxiety this week (okay, all my life), and today in my reading of Isaiah, I came across great encouragement for this fearful heart.  Isaiah 35:3-4 reads:

Strengthen the weak hands,

and make firm the feeble knees.

Say to those who have an anxious heart,

“Be strong; fear not!

Behold, your God will come with vengeance,

with the recompense of God

He will come and save you.”

The command to the people of God is to fear not.  But why?   I am weak, prone to wander, I am not in control, and I don’t know what tomorrow holds.  Why, then, can I resist the temptation to fear?

Behold, your God…will come…He will come and save you.

It is the greatest hope of all.  God Himself.  And it is the understanding of who He is and what He’s promised to do for His people, yes, even me, that gives strength to these weak hands of mine.  For my God is the faithful One.  My God is committed to His children.  My God will fulfill His plans for me until they are accomplished.

And what are His plans for me?  As I look throughout Scripture, I find many things that God is doing in His people’s lives for their good and His glory.  Some of His purposes for me, a child of God, involve:

  • shaping me more and more into the likeness of Christ by the power of His Spirit within me (Rom. 8:28,29)
  • displaying His power through me, that others might see and know that He alone is God and He alone saves (2 Cor. 4: 6-7, 2 Cor. 12:9, John 9:1-3)
  • bringing me into glory forevermore with Jesus. It is God who sustains His people through this life to bring them into eternity with Him (1 Thess. 5: 23-24; 2 Tim. 1:12; 2 Tim. 2: 11-13)!

God is faithfully committed to His children, and He will accomplish what He says He will do for His people.  So fear not, soul.

Yet he did not waver through unbelief regarding the promise of God, but was strengthened in his faith and gave glory to God,  being fully persuaded that God had power to do what he had promise.  -Rom. 4: 20-21

One thought on “Fear Not, Because…

Comments are closed.