Adoption Update: Big News!

And just like that… WE ARE PARENTS!!!

Adoption update: We have a Daughter!

It was the day before Valentine’s Day that we received the news, so we will always tell her that she is our Valentine’s baby.  It was on that day that we were introduced to our daughter.


Two weeks prior, late at night, the email came.  And by late, I mean that we were in bed at 8:30, per Tim’s early morning work schedule.  He was just about to turn the lights out when he paused as he checked an incoming email.  I was afraid a family member was in trouble, or someone had died.  That’s me, jumping to worst-case scenarios when I don’t know what’s up.  My husband looked at me, and smiled. (Phew, nothing bad!)  It was an email from our family coordinator at America World, informing us of the high probability that we would be matched with a little girl.  Let’s call her “Baby K”.  “I know you had hoped for a sibling set, but please pray about this little girl,” wrote our coordinator.  We had been told about “Baby K” a few weeks prior over a phone call regarding our status on the CARA database, but we hadn’t expected a referral so soon.  “Alright, we’ll pray and talk about possibly bringing “Baby K” home if we get matched with her, but let’s not tell anyone, K?”  That was the agreement we’d made before turning in for the night…  And then I texted my sister the news, asking for prayer. We phoned our parents the next day asking for prayer.  Tim called his sister.   I emailed two of my closest friends.  Everyone in this small circle was told the joyous news: “We might be receiving a referral for a little girl.  She might be the one.”

Adoption Update: we have a Daughter


Two weeks passed as we waited for a referral.  We prayed, got excited at the possibility that this was our daughter, prayed some more, and then began to feel deflated when no referral came.  It seemed like an eternity, just waiting for news, and I remember driving to work on Friday the 13th wondering if this would work out like we’d hoped.  “God, You’re in control.  God, I trust You.  God, please help us to cling to You even if this girl is not ours.  Help us to put our hope in You; our hope is in You.”  Relinquishing my desires to our Faithful God, I struggled to not be more than a little disappointed as I began work that day.

My phone rang just as lunchtime rolled around.  It was our coordinator calling to let us know, “You’ve received the referral for “Baby K”.”

Adoption Update: we have a Daughter


At this point, I can safely tell you that this entire experience has been different than we ever imagined it would be.  Instead of sobbing buckets of tears when we saw her picture (which, rather, come at random and obnoxiously awkward moments for me when I think of my daughter, like when I’m sitting at my office desk and the tears just well up at thoughts of her…or when I’m walking through grocery store aisles and I get misty-eyed thinking about having her with me), we just looked at her and thought, “Oh, yes.  There you are, baby girl.”  There has been nothing but immense joy and excitement over our daughter, and a little bit of shell-shock that leaves us numb with emotion.  I remember Tim telling me, “I feel nothing but a huge sense of contentment right now.  My heart is full.”  Indeed, this is us right now: a couple of shell-shocked, joy-filled parents.  We have a daughter!!!!!!!

Adoption Update: We Have a Daughter

Adoption Update: We Have a Daughter


Thinking back on our adoption journey, the theme that has run through every part of our story is that ‘our God is the God who provides.’  At just the right time, He allowed me to earn more money through a promotion at work.  At just the right time, He gave us the grace to get through our home study with virtually no hiccups.  At just the right time, He placed it on people’s hearts to financially support our adoption (which we pray will continue, to cover large program and travel fees!!!).  At just the right time, He placed us on the CARA database.  At just the right time, He opened up our hearts to joyfully consider bringing home one daughter instead of two.  And at just the right time, He gave us our little girl.  

Adoption update: We have a Daughter!

Yes, our God is the God who provides!  We are praising Him today for our “Baby K”, who is our precious gift from Him!  (We can’t wait to meet you, baby girl.  CAN.NOT.WAIT.)

P.S. I will be writing a follow-up post ASAP with more specific details regarding how much longer we have to wait before bringing home “Baby K”, our financial needs for the remainder of the process, the fundraiser that never happened but hopefully will this year, and any news we can pass on about our beautiful little girl!  Stay tuned!

4 thoughts on “Adoption Update: Big News!

Comments are closed.