You Are Not Forgotten

You Are Not Forgotten | Journey of Faith | life struggles and compassion

We were walking across the street when we crossed paths, and I saw you.  I have not forgotten you.

You were weeping and muttering to yourself.  Open sores covered your face.  Clothes hung on your bone-thin frame.  I saw you, and I have not forgotten you.

I wanted to reach out and hug you, as I would a friend whom I love.  I so wanted to hear your story.  Where did you come from, and where are you now?  Why are you crying?  Can I help you?  

Oh, my friend, my friend, I wish I could have known you.  I wish I could have sat close to you and listened to your story.  I wish I could have shared my story with you, and the part where Christ came in and rescued this weepy, sore-covered soul.

He redeemed me, friend, and He can save you (Is. 59:1)!

He gave me life eternal (Eph. 2:4-6), purpose on earth (2 Cor. 5:14-15), and hope for tomorrow!  He can do this for you.

He saw me every day of my life, He counted my tears and stored them in a bottle (Ps. 56:8), and at just the right time, He rescued me.  He has never left me, and He never will, and He sees you, my friend.

I was hopeless, I was lost.  And when I thought I was all alone, and life was too big for me, that’s when I remembered – HE CAME DOWN TO ME.  He left the perfect bliss of heaven, clothed Himself in flesh and blood, and the God-Man Jesus Christ made me His own when He purchased me with His blood on the cross (Phil. 2:5-8, 1 Cor. 6:20).  He rose on the third day (1 Cor. 15:3-4), securing my hope: He is my hope.  He can be your hope, too.

I wish I could have shared these things with you.  I wish I could have known you.

You are not forgotten.

Man of sorrows, what a name for the Son of God who came / ruined sinners to reclaim: Hallelujah! What a Savior! / Bearing shame and scoffing rude, in my place condemned he stood / sealed my pardon with his blood: Hallelujah! What a Savior!

