I See Grace.

I See Grace | Journey of Faith | addiction and grace
Amazing Grace, How Sweet the Sound

When I look at you, I see grace.  Abundant, sweet grace.  Costly, lavish, spilling-over-the-sides grace.  Grace for you, and grace for me.  I see nothing but His grace when I look at you.

In the midst of your struggle, I see His grace keeping you alive.  You shouldn’t be here! I say to myself as I think over the past decade of your life.  The reckless living, the life-threatening choices made under the influence of something bigger than you.

I see His grace in surrounding you with people who love you and care for you.  People who are walking alongside you during this time, fighting with you.

And when I look at you, I see His grace in me.  I should be where you are!  I say to myself as I think of my own life.  I was walking down the road that got you to where you are right now, but He rescued me.  He rescued me.

I see His grace in me that has removed all the anger in my heart and replaced it with nothing but love.  Nothing but love for you.  Heart-wrenching, powerful love.  Oh, my God, is it painful!!  It’s love that causes me to weep with tears as I lay in bed at night, begging for Him to rescue you.  I don’t know why He hasn’t yet, I just don’t know why.

But I see His grace working something beautiful for you, for me, for all of us in the middle of this.  I see His grace strengthening us to be with you and for you.  I see His grace in bringing us closer together, in being real and honest and broken together.

Yes, when I look at you, I see nothing but grace.  Sweet, abundant grace.

For by grace you have been saved through faith.  And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not works, so that no one may boast.  For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.  -Ephesians 2:8-10

