3 Reasons I’m Thankful for My Husband

I need to write this down before I forget (how easy it is!).  And for the record, there are WAY more than 3 reasons to be thankful for my guy.  I could write a book; maybe someday I will.  But this past week has reminded me of a few specific things to be grateful for regarding Tim, and I wanted to share them with you.

1. He speaks truth to me gently and kindly, (mostly) every day.

3 Reasons I'm Thankful for My Husband | Journey of Faith | marriage and gratitude

Before you write this off and say that I have the world’s greatest guy and that he must be extra special (both true statements, by the way); let me tell you – he hasn’t always been so gentle.  Truth teller?  Yes, always.  That’s something I’ve always really admired about him; it’s always been one of his strengths.  But always saying that truth in a way that didn’t crush his wife?  Especially on a PMS-ing, emotions-running-everywhere kind of day?  Not so much.

But the other afternoon, I was having one of those crazy days.  I felt so insecure, unloved, and very not beautiful.  All of these feelings were coming from {me}, from my own insecurities and fears, and guess what he did?  He spoke truth to me in the sweetest, most tender way.  He told me that God loved me and had made me beautiful.  He said that he loved me and would always find me beautiful.  It was enough to make a girl swoon (see? I’m swooning right now!), and I was reminded in that moment of how thankful I am for the way that he has grown in this area.  Speaking truth in love is becoming one of his assets, and I’m so grateful.

2. He is SO funny, and he is so NOT funny in the same way that he used to be.3 Reasons I'm Thankful for My Husband | Journey of Faith | marriage and gratitude

When we were married, I didn’t quite realize how valuable having a good sense of humor is.  Life is difficult and complicated sometimes, and Tim never fails to brighten the tough moments with his clever quips and goofy ways.

One night recently, we were sitting on the couch together when he leaned over and said, “Hey, on Family Guy one time-“.  I cut in before he could finish.  “Nope, not interested in hearing about Family Guy, I wanna hear a story about YOU!”  He paused for a second before saying, “Okay…so I was watching Family Guy one time…” and then continued with his memory.  I couldn’t stop laughing at his antics.

I also sent up a silent prayer thanking God that he doesn’t watch shows like Family Guy anymore! (No judgment if you do, I’m just sharing our story!)  It has its hilarious quotes, but they come sandwiched between heaps of crude talk.  Tim used to love it, and he still remembers the genuinely funny things; but he’s no longer into it.  How grateful I am.

3. He never ceases to be amazed by Jesus.

3 Reasons I'm Thankful for My Husband | Journey of Faith | marriage and gratitude

I know, I know, typical.  To be expected, even.  The guy’s gonna be a pastor, after all, he better be amazed by Jesus!  But I gotta say, it’s neat to see and it reminds me that anyone whose heart is lived in by the Holy Spirit through faith in Christ should be this way ALL. THE. TIME.  Really.

Tim was watching a lecture on heaven and hell yesterday.  His teacher was talking about what Jesus is like, and tears were streaming down my husband’s face.  The manliest cry I’ve ever seen. 

A full two or three minutes passed before he looked at me and said, “My professor was just talking about hell.  He was explaining that everyone in hell will be eternally separated from God, and then he specified that they will be separated from everything that God is; and when we look at Jesus, we see who God is.  He is the source of ALL wisdom, ALL beauty, ALL goodness…and so much more.  Jesus really is everything.”

This man of mine is just astounded by who Christ is and what He has done for him.  He can’t get enough, and when he thinks about anyone who might be separated from this love of Christ – well, it’s enough to make his heart burst with a flood of sorrowful, Christ-adoring tears.  And I get to be a witness.  I get to watch, and find myself enamored by Christ and the love He places in our hearts for Him and for others.  To say that I am thankful would be a serious understatement.

I’m so incredibly thankful for my husband.  He speaks truth gently to me, he’s hilarious, and he’s totally in love with Jesus.  I love that I get to see him grow up in Christ, and I love that together we can grow and grasp how deep and how high and how wide and how far is the love of Christ for us.  For us.

He is the radiance of the glory of God and the exact imprint of his nature, and he upholds the universe by the word of his power.  After making purification for sins, he sat down at the right hand of the Majesty on high… Hebrews 1:3,4

What do you love about your spouse?  In what ways do you notice him growing in his love for Christ?  How can you show him your appreciation today?

