Loving Him in His Word

Loving Him in His Word | Journey of Faith | God's Word and Jesus

I recently came across a journaling Bible – one with wide margins and room for writing notes on the sides of each page.  I wanted it, so I asked my husband if he would surprise me with one sometime in the future.  His response?

“My love, please don’t buy another Bible.”

Umm…what?  My husband, future PASTOR, was telling me that it wasn’t okay to buy a Bible?  “This should be some sort of high-level crime,” I thought as I sullenly sat across from him in annoyed silence.

And I {was} annoyed.  He went on to explain that if I were to buy this particular print, I would take notes and fill up all the space on its pages, so that I would have to buy another Bible…and then another…and another…(you get the point). I stopped listening when he began to talk about his opinions on the monetary gain of Bible printing businesses, but I didn’t forget what he’d said.  In fact, I mulled over our conversation on my way back to the office when the thought struck me:

I have loved the accessories of the Word more than the Word itself.

The Word, which has come to me from the all-powerful, living, infinite God.  His story written down for me.

The Word, the story written by God, about God, for my benefit.

The Word, which points me to the eternal, living, all-powerful Word of God.  Jesus Christ.

I have been more excited about the Word’s embellishments than I have about knowing Christ intimately in His Word.

The Word written down for me, teaching me about my Savior and my identity in Him.

The Word, which holds everything I {need} to know about God’s redemptive plan for mankind.

The Word, always teaching me, rebuking me, correcting me, training me, equipping me, comforting me.  Always pointing me to my Savior.

I was suddenly not so annoyed at my husband anymore.  I wondered how I could have so easily gotten caught up in a shiny new copy of the eternal Word from God.  How could I ever be more excited about the capability of taking notes on the side of my Bible rather than diving deep into its pages to find what my soul most yearns for – Jesus?

I drove home from work that day, took out my journal, worn Bible in hand, and relished in knowing my Savior.  Humbled by His love for me, His silly little accessory-loving girl.

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God…And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth. -John 1:1,14

Do you ever find yourself loving other things more than the Word itself – more than Christ?  Do you see Him on the pages of Scripture and see how every story points to Him? What situations and people do you see God using in your life to point you back to your first and truest Love – Jesus?  He is so worthy of our love.

