Verse of the Day – Isaiah 57:13

Verse of the Day - Isaiah 57:13 | Journey of Faith | Isaiah and the gospel

I have been reading through Isaiah and have found a number of note-worthy passages that cause me to ponder BIG life questions.  I thought I would try my hand at adding a few of these verses from time to time as I come across them and think through their meaning and application; as well as how they fit into the overall narrative of God’s redemption throughout history.  Would you join me?  I would love to have you here with me in seeking God in His Word.

Today’s Verse – Isaiah 57:13

“When you cry out, let your collection of idols deliver you!  The wind will carry them off, a breath will take them away.  But he who takes refuge in me shall possess the land and shall inherit my holy mountain.”

In this chapter, God is talking to the Israelites.  He is speaking to them regarding their rejection of Him as God.  Instead of trusting in Him, they have turned to pagan gods and have put their trust in the surrounding nations who are in political power (57:5-12).  This verse comes in the middle of this confrontation of the people’s sin.

“…let your collection of idols deliver you!  The wind will carry them off, a breath will take them away.”

God is pointing out the futility of their idols.  They cannot save, they will not deliver the people.  It begs me to ask the following questions:

Who or what in my life am I trusting outside of God; do I see the futility of trusting in these things?

When am I prone to turn from trusting God and instead trust in someone/something beside Him?  

What does trusting God look like in my day-to-day living?

“…But he who takes refuge in me shall possess the land and shall inherit my holy mountain.”

The man whose refuge is God will overcome!  He is the one who will get the inheritance.

How does one escape the judgment of God, the righteous and holy Creator King?  By dwelling in the “shadow of the Most High,” as Psalm 91 declares.

One of the purposes of God’s salvation for His people is to save them from His wrath.  This is where I find the ultimate comfort: God could not just choose to overlook my sin, because He is just.  But because He is also merciful, He placed the punishment for my sin on His own, perfect Son, Jesus Christ.  God in the flesh came down to do for me what I could never do for myself to give me the inheritance that only He deserves!  Christ alone is my hope, my righteousness, my deliverer.  Only He can save!

How does this verse in Isaiah point to the gospel – to Jesus Christ?  Does it?

In light of who Christ is and what He has done, am I trusting in Him alone as my righteousness before God?

Does my life reflect what I proclaim with my mouth – Christ alone saves?

How does the truth that Christ alone is my perfection and approval before God change me and the way that I live?

Thank you, friend, for joining me here today.  Feel free to post your own additional questions or comments you have from this passage.  I also highly recommend reading Isaiah 57; in fact, the whole book!  It is well worth the time. 🙂

