God’s Faithfulness in Adoption

When Tim and I were matched with our daughter in February, we received one small picture of our girl.

God's faithfulness in Adoption | Kurtz family adoption | Journey of Faith blog

Since then, we’ve been waiting (rather impatiently, I might add) for additional photos of her.  I’ve checked our email inbox religiously for weeks now, just hoping for a little update on her.

We haven’t received anything, so I’ve been clinging tightly to the one small photo that I {do} have and praying for God’s help.  My heart has been hurting for my daughter’s homecoming, especially this past month.

You can imagine the great joy and delight Tim and I had when we opened our email a few days ago to find an update on our daughter WITH a picture of her.  Smiling.

I’m staring at her pictures right now, and I don’t want to stop.  I think somewhere deep down inside of me is the wish that if I just look at the photos long enough, she will materialize.  She will be home.  It reminds me of how I felt one Sunday soon after we’d received the referral for our girl.

God's faithfulness in Adoption | Kurtz family adoption | Journey of Faith blog

We were taking communion, and as we prayed, I remember thinking how I would move heaven and earth if it meant that I could go to my daughter and bring her home. I would stop at nothing to make sure that I secured her as my daughter.  In an instant, those thoughts were followed with a sense of helplessness.  I knew that the matter is almost entirely out of my hands.  I cannot guarantee any particular outcome, simply because I do not nor ever will hold that kind of power.  I felt so helpless.

And as I held the bread and the juice and thanked my God Almighty for Jesus, He comforted me.  I remembered the Truth, that when I was separated from God, He moved heaven and earth to make me His daughter.

He came down from heaven, was born of a virgin, lived the perfect life I could never live, died the death I deserved, and He rose again to defeat my greatest enemy – death.  This, He did to bring me into His family.

Even when securing me as His child meant that God the Father would have to give up His own, perfect Son – He did so for me.  And Jesus willingly offered Himself.  For me.

I was comforted by reflecting on God’s faithfulness and on His power to finish what He sets out to do.  Where I am helpless, He is my Helper.  Where I am weak, He is strong.  Where I am inadequate, He is completely sufficient.

My daughter will come home, God-willing, and it won’t have anything to do with my ability to complete such a task.  Her entrance into our family will have EVERYTHING to do with the power and faithfulness of God my Father.

It’s the reminder I needed on that particular Sunday, and it’s the reminder I need every day.

God is faithful.

He can do it.

Against all hope, Abraham in hope believed…he did not waver through unbelief regarding the promise of God, but was strengthened in his faith and gave glory to God, being fully persuaded that God had power to do what he had promised.  -Romans 4:18a, 20-21

One thought on “God’s Faithfulness in Adoption

Comments are closed.