Overwhelmed.

Overwhelmed | Journey of Faith | amazed by God

Have you heard Big Daddy Weave’s song “Overwhelmed”?  The lyrics go something like this:

I see the work of Your Hands // Galaxies spin in a heavenly dance, oh God  // All that You are is so overwhelming

I hear the sound of Your voice // All at once it’s a gentle and thundering noise, oh God // All that You are is so overwhelming

I delight myself in You // Captivated by Your beauty, I’m overwhelmed by You

God, I run into Your arms // Unashamed because of mercy // I’m overwhelmed, I’m overwhelmed by You

I know the power of Your cross // Forgiven and free // forever You’ll be my God

All that You’ve done is so overwhelming // I delight myself in You // In the glory of Your presence, I’m overwhelmed by You

You are Beautiful, You are Beautiful // Oh God, there is no one more Beautiful // You are beautiful, God you are the most Beautiful

You are Wonderful, You are Wonderful // Oh God, there is no one more Wonderful // You are wonderful, God you are the most Wonderful

You are Glorious, You are glorious // Oh God, there is no one more glorious // You are glorious, God you are the most glorious

Many days recently have been a fight to keep my head above the proverbial waters.  I’m tired.  Physically, mentally, and emotionally.  I’m sick of waiting for my daughter.  I’m so over my husband’s crazy work schedule that keeps us from living summer to the max.  Long work days for him translate into “long” nights of staying awake just to feel like we’re not only working and sleeping all the time.  I’m struggling to be grateful in this season of life.

But today is not one of those days.  Today, I am simply overwhelmed by my Father.  That song does a good job of summing up my current thoughts on why I am so captivated by His beauty (to steal a lyric).

Overwhelmed | Journey of Faith | amazed by God

There is a God who made the heavens and the earth, who holds the world in the palm of His hands – and He loves me.

There is a God who is ALL beauty, ALL glorious, ALL goodness,  ALL justice, ALL grace (basically, infinite in His character, which is ALL PERFECT AND GLORIOUS) – and it pleased Him to give up the glories of heaven and come to earth as a man and give himself for me.  The perfect God sought me and bought me with His blood.

I’m so overwhelmed by this God today.  He is so beautiful and satisfying.

Overwhelmed | Journey of Faith | amazed by God

There are days of struggle ahead.  More work.  More waiting.  More “long” nights.  And the God who made all that exists, who holds the world together by the power of His word; the One who came to redeem sinners like me – He will keep me.  He will strengthen me, sustain me, and continue to surround my husband and I with people who encourage us with gospel truth (hellooo, City Group peeps!), and He will satisfy me with Himself.

I’m so overwhelmed by You, God.  You are Great!

Great is the LORD and most worthy of praise; his greatness no one can fathom…The LORD is gracious and compassionate, slow to anger and rich in love…The LORD is trustworthy in all he promises and faithful in all he does…My mouth will speak in praise of the LORD.  Let every creature praise his holy name for ever and ever. ~excerpts from Psalm 145

