On 5 Years of Marriage

A little over 6 years ago, I attended a friend’s wedding and noticed an amazing looking man in the bridal party.  I nervously walked past him as I made my way into the church sanctuary and immediately wrote him off as extremely too good-looking for someone like me.

My sister was a bridesmaid in that party, too, and she asked me to take photos for her.  I did and snapped this beauty, totally unaware of what the future would hold for this gorgeous man and me.

On 5 years of marriage | Journey of Faith

A few months later, I visited a new church family, and he was there.  He noticed me and introduced himself after the service.

The rest is pretty much history.

We began hanging out in the same group of people, and it was one of the best summers of my life.  Some of our friends lived next door to a giant parking lot, and before saying our goodbyes each evening, we’d spend hours in that lot talking.  Through many late-evening chats, I learned that his outward attractiveness paled in comparison to the beauty of his character.  I loved getting to know him in that way.

He asked me to be his girlfriend by summer’s end, and I was awe-struck that he still liked me.  I said yes.

Our courtship began.

We went to the lake with my sister (who is a constant in this story),

On Five Years of Marriage | Journey of Faith

took a trip to see his sister and flirted in a hammock,

On Five Years of Marriage | Journey of Faith

had fun with friends in Indy,

On Five Years of Marriage | Journey of Faith

and six months later, he asked me to be his wife in the parking lot with all the memories.  I said yes.  I remained awe-struck at his pursuit of me.

On Five Years of Marriage | Journey of Faith

We were married six months after our engagement, and it has gone down in history as the 2nd best day of my life.

On 5 years of marriage | Journey of Faith blog

Since that auspicious event 5 years ago, we’ve made a lot of really fun memories together.

We kicked off our marriage with a bang by honeymooning in the exotic water parks of the Wisconsin Dells,

On Five Years of Marriage | Journey of Faith

visited and fell in love with the Smoky Mountains,

On Five Years of Marriage | Journey of Faith

and one of us learned how to ski at the hands of the world’s best instructor (Skiing extraordinaire Timmy K) in Kalamazoo.

On Five Years of Marriage | Journey of Faith

We put our house up for sale in hopes that Tim would start seminary on Southern’s Louisville campus,

On Five Years of Marriage | Journey of Faith

only to take it off the market when it didn’t sell in time.  Tim began pursuing his Master’s Degree via online classes, and a few months later, we said “Yes!” to adoption from India.

On Five Years of Marriage | Journey of Faith

We visited my sister at her new home in Colorado and hiked in the mountains,

On Five Years of Marriage | Journey of Faith

made friends with college students from India,

On Five Years of Marriage | Journey of Faith

watched as a certain someone fell in love with littles,

On Five Years of Marriage | Journey of Faith

and said a resounding “Yes!” to the referral of our daughter.

On Five Years of Marriage | Journey of Faith

Five years of marriage, and they’ve flown by in a flash.  I continue to be awe-struck by my man and by what God is teaching me through our marriage; chiefly, that my marriage (and my entire life) isn’t really about me at all.

It’s about the God who knows all things and works everything out in His perfect timing.  Tim and I met at exactly the right time in both of our lives, and it is all owing to the perfect ability of God to coordinate such events.  Subsequent endeavors in our lives have also fallen in line at the most appropriate times.  It’s all by His working.

Our story is about the God who gives us nothing less than His best, though we deserve much worse.  Tim is God’s best for me, and I have never deserved such a man of God.

Our marriage is an everyday reminder to us that GRACE reigns, and that God came down from heaven to pursue His Bride and make her His own.  We make mistakes in loving one another daily and find forgiveness and renewal at the cross of Christ.  He bought us, washing us clean with His blood.  He gave us His Spirit, empowering us to say “No” to our flesh and “Yes” to righteousness through Christ.  We gather at the cross when we are overcome with our mistakes and find grace and hope.  Our marriage really is all about the gospel, and about the great God who came down from heaven for us.

I’m looking forward to the next five years of marriage with my man and praying that God will continue to do what only He can do – take our story and turn it into something that makes Christ look GREAT and most beautiful above all else!

Two are better than one, because they have a good reward for their toil… And though a man might prevail against one who is alone, two will withstand him—a threefold cord is not quickly broken. -Ecc. 4:9,12

