To My Daughter, On Father’s Day

My Girl,

Today is Father’s Day, and so one of the people we’re celebrating today is your Daddy.  Your forever, really real, he-loves-you-so-much Daddy.  I’ve been thinking of what I want to tell you about him.

Oh, I want to tell you so much.

I want to tell you the story of how he never wanted kids until God changed his heart’s desire and gave him a new perspective on children.  God gave us the dream of YOU, and we were both on board right from the start. To My Daughter, on Father's Day | Journey of Faith | India adoption Your Daddy wants you.  He will always want you, meri beti*.  Always, always.

I want to tell you about the light-up elephant decoration your daddy bought just for you.  He spotted it in the aisle at the store and knew it was meant to be in your room.  He was so excited to buy it for his girl. To My Daughter, on Father's Day | Journey of Faith | India adoption Your Daddy loves giving you good gifts.  Even now, meri beti.  And always, always.

I want to tell you about all the things your Daddy says about you.  Just the other day, he made a remark about how excited he is when he thinks of having you with him wherever he goes.  He talks about camping with you in the backyard, teaching you how to ride a bike, swimming in the pool together, playing at the park, eating out at our favorite Indian restaurant, reading bedtime stories with you… To My Daughter, on Father's Day | Journey of Faith | India adoption Your Daddy wants to spend his time with you.  He will always love being with you, meri beti.  Always, always.

Meri beti, your Daddy finds you infinitely valuable, and he wants you as his daughter.  He wants to give you nothing but the best and is generous toward you even now.  He can’t wait to be with you and teach you many wonderful things!

And I can’t wait until you’re sitting on my lap while I read this letter you.  We love and miss you so much, meri beti.

Hugs and kisses and all my love,

your Momma

*meri beti means “my daughter” in Hindi

