Justified.

My husband and I switched cars this morning so he could take mine in later for an oil change while I work.  Therefore, I began my trek in to the office today in his old, beat-up, two-door Chevy Cavalier.  The one with the chipped paint and rust spots.  A humbling ride.

Justified. | Journey of Faith blog | justification by faith in Jesus
okaay, so our car looks a lot better (and different) than this one…but you get the idea

I turned on the radio, per my usual on-the-way-to-work routine, to listen to some sweet tunes. What welcomed me, instead, was a David Platt sermon.  Of course my husband would have his radio turned on to such a station (I secretly love this about him).

I’m not sure which passage Platt was preaching on, as I jumped into his message about 3/4 of the way through, but he quoted a portion from the Heidelberg Catechism that greatly humbled and encouraged me.

Q: How are you righteous before God?

A: Only by true faith in Jesus Christ.  In spite of the fact that my conscience accuses me that I have grievously sinned against all the commandments of God and have not kept any one of them, and that I am still ever prone to all that is evil; NEVERTHELESS, GOD, without any merit of my own, out of pure grace, grants me the benefits of the perfect sacrifice of Christ, imputing to me {His} righteousness and holiness, AS IF I had {never} committed a single sin, or had ever been sinful, having fulfilled myself all the obedience which Christ has carried out for me, if only I accept such favor with a trusting heart.

Isn’t it astounding?!  This sums up the gospel so well.

I have an insurmountable debt to God, the perfect and holy Creator.  My sin.

It weighs me down with a burden that I cannot carry.  I am crushed by my own guilt.

Apart from my own merit or earning, GOD in His grace and mercy, did for me what I could not do for myself.

To give me what I could not ever earn, given all the time in eternity.

He sent His beloved Son, God in the flesh.

To carry my burden of sin and bear the wrath of God.

And He rose from the dead, defeating my ultimate Enemy, having satisfied the just wrath of the Father.

Jesus Christ became sin for me so that through faith in Him, I would receive His perfection and the reward that only He deserves.

His reward is now {my} reward.

For all eternity.

Justified. | Journey of Faith blog | justification by faith in Jesus

I am floored by this truth, and by what God in His goodness and grace, has done for me.  May I never forget.

His perfection.  (My sin.)  His love. (My unlovely-ness.  I am like the old, beat-up car!)  His grace.  (My stubborn heart.)  His goodness. (My lack thereof.)

His substitutionary atonement for me that has justified me before God, the holy and perfect Creator.

 For all eternity.

God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God. -2 Corinthians 5:21

Who will bring any charge against those whom God has chosen? It is God who justifies. Who then is the one who condemns? No one. Christ Jesus who died– more than that, who was raised to life– is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us.” -Romans 8:33-34

