A Movement Too Big For Me

My husband, Tim, and I had the opportunity to attend the Send: North America 2015 conference recently, and we were not disappointed by what we experienced.

A Movement Too Big For Me | Journey of Faith blog | making disciples

However, at one point during a teaching session, I leaned over to Tim and said, “I don’t like these conferences.” I proceeded to tell him why.

“No, I’m not a fan of these things, because this movement is too big for me. I can’t do this – make a disciple who makes disciples who makes disciples who makes..?!” I hunkered down in my chair and hoped no one would notice my glaring incapability.

A Movement Too Big For Me | Journey of Faith blog | making disciples

And then I realized that, in some ways, that was the whole point of this particular gathering:

To desire a movement that is too big for us, a movement that is outside of ourselves.

And to be desperate before the throne of God, recognizing that He is the One who makes disciples and we just get to join Him in what He’s doing. 

A Movement Too Big For Me | Journey of Faith blog | making disciples

I left Send: North America 2015 with three main thoughts.

  1. I am desperate to see God work in my community, to restore the broken and, most importantly, to bring many lost souls to saving faith in Jesus Christ.
  2. And I’m recognizing that a movement like {that} HAS to start on my knees, aware of my great need for God to accomplish His work by His Spirit.
  3. So, prayerfully, I’m going.  With the Spirit of the living God in me – enabling and equipping me – I’m going out into my community, hopefully surrounded by fellow brothers and sisters, and I’m sharing the gospel as I seek to meet a need in my town.

Maybe, just maybe, God in His lavish grace will do these things this year:

  • Bring my daughter home and at some point, reveal the saving power of Jesus Christ to her.
  • Free my loved one from his drug addiction and, most importantly, give him eternal freedom in the Savior.
  • Continue to give me success in my job and open doors for sharing the gospel with my co-workers.
  • Continue the work of building His kingdom at City of God and, specifically, to spread the Good News of Jesus to the people in our community as we love & serve them.

God, build Your kingdom.  Use me, even a small, weak person like me.

But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong.  God chose the lowly things of this world and the despised things – and the things that are not – to nullify the things that are, so that no one may boast before him.  It is because of him that you are in Christ Jesus, who has become for us wisdom from God – that is, our righteousness, holiness and redemption. 1 Cor. 1:27-30

