Adoption Update: Trusting God in the Waiting

Every family’s adoption journey has its share of ups and downs.  Every process has a host of delightful surprises (um, getting matched with our daughter only 5 months after being placed on the waiting list!) and many, many frustrations (um, paperwork and expired paperwork and notaries and due process – i.e. waiting!)

Ours is no different.

Adoption Update: Trusting God in the Waiting | Journey of Faith blog

Tim talked with our family coordinator yesterday after we had a meeting with our home study coordinator (different person) to update paperwork.  Lisa, our family coordinator, said that once we have our NOC (still waiting on that approval), it will be an average of 7 months before we travel to meet our daughter and finalize the adoption.  SEVEN months.  It’s a significant number when used in the Bible, but it sure doesn’t sound so holy when it means I’m waiting that much longer to meet my girl.

Adoption Update: Trusting God in the Waiting | Journey of Faith blog

Without realizing it, I now see that I had been putting a lot of hope in the expectation that God would unite our family by Christmastime. Because I know God CAN do that, I know He is able to make it happen!  And in my limited understanding, I don’t really understand why He wouldn’t do that.  I may never understand why He would allow this long of a time-frame for our adoption or for any adoptive family’s wait!  But a Timothy Keller quote comes to mind – “Just because you can’t see or imagine a good reason why God might allow something to happen doesn’t mean there can’t be one.”  Spot on as usual, TK.

Adoption Update: Trusting God in the Waiting | Journey of Faith blog

I have been laid low by my gracious, good Father.  Because He hasn’t promised me this girl, though in His abundant grace, He has matched us with her and is working out a good plan to bring her home.  He hasn’t promised me a maximum time frame for waiting on my daughter, and in His love, He’s working out something really beautiful for our entire family in this journey.

And in this moment, in this waiting for an approval and for 7ish months of more waiting, the question I’m forced to ask myself is this: Can I trust Him?

Can I trust God, that He is in control?

Can I trust God, that He is GOOD?

Can I trust God, that He is capable for this task and is right now working out what is in our family’s best interest?

There are two reasons why I can confidently answer “Yes”.

First, to quote a favorite hymn: “When I survey the wondrous cross…”

When I ponder what happened on Calvary, I’m reminded that God gave His Son for me.  He left heaven to enter a fallen world, clothe Himself in humanity, and bear the punishment I deserved. God literally gave up His most precious prize, Jesus His only, Perfect Son, to bring me into His family.

When I survey the wondrous cross, I’m reminded that “He who did not spare his own Son but gave him up for us all, how will he not also with him graciously give us all things? (Rom. 8:32)”

When I remember Christ on the cross, I’m reminded of His goodness, grace, and capability to do His will. I can trust Him.

Second, to quote King David in Psalm 143: “I remember the days of old, I meditate on all You have done…(v.5)”

When I remember what God has done in this process, I’m reminded that He has financially provided every cent so far.  We had not raised nearly enough money when we started this journey, but God has graciously supplied us with all that we’ve needed thus far to pay for our daughter’s adoption.

When I think about what He’s done for our family, I’m reminded that He matched us with this specific girl only 5 months after being placed on the waiting list.  This is quite unusual for India adoptions, and we know it is His handiwork.  I can trust Him.

Adoption Update: Trusting God in the Waiting | Journey of Faith blog

So as we continue to wait for our NOC, and the 7(ish) months that follow before we travel, I’m praying this prayer. Will you pray it with me?

“Hear, O LORD, when I cry aloud; be gracious to me and answer me!

You have said, ‘Seek my face.’  My heart says to you, ‘Your face, LORD, do I seek.’

Hide not your face from me. Turn not your servant away…O you who have been my help.

Cast me not off; forsake me not, O God of my salvation! (Psalm 27:7-9)

Do not forget us, gracious Father.

Bring her home. We trust in You.

I believe that I shall look upon the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living! Wait for the LORD; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the LORD! -Psalm 27:13,14

