Adoption Update: NOC

But my eyes are toward you, O God, my LORD; in you I seek refuge; leave me not defenseless!

With each passing week that we have waited to hear news regarding the status of our NOC with CARA (the adoption authorities in India), I have struggled.  I have begun to feel like this adoption finalization will never happen, and that we’ll just be waiting forever.

Yesterday, I was reflecting on the above verse found in Psalm 141 as I struggled through another day of not hearing anything.

I noted that, because of Jesus Christ, I can have the audacity and boldness to approach God my Father and assert such a statement – I trust You, DO NOT LEAVE ME DEFENSELESS.

And because of Christ, I can be completely assured that He will not, in fact, leave me without a defense.  HE is my defense, and He will never leave me alone. He’s given me His Spirit, and He will never leave me to figure life out without Him.

I can have confident assurance of such things only because of Christ. What great love God poured out for me when He gave up His Son, delivering Him over to death to suffer His wrath that my sins deserved. What amazing power He displayed when He rose again so that I would never, ever have to bear God the Father’s wrath OR be without Him in this life or the one to come.  I get to come to Him as often as I want, every day, very much like a little child approaching her loving Father.  Thank You, God, for my Savior!

While my emotions did not bring me calm, thinking about this verse and praying its truth to God gave me comfort in this long wait that has, more often than not, been extremely unpleasant.

And yesterday, in the middle of my pondering and asking God to strengthen my trust in Him, my husband called to let me know that we have received our NOC (No-Objection Certificate) from CARA in India.

WE’VE GOT IT.

N. O. C.

Tears of joy and utter relief streamed down my face as I listened to my husband.  We laughed, and laughed, and laughed some more.  It was, and still is, almost unbelievable to us.  One minute, we had no timeline and no knowledge of where we stood, and the next minute, everything changed.

Adoption Update: NOC

We now have the NOC, and this means a few things for our family and for our little girl:

  • We have a timeline of about 7 months!

We should be traveling around May 2016 to meet our daughter, finalize her adoption into our family, and bring her home.  Whereas before, we had no clue when we would travel, we now see a light at the end of the tunnel and have a more solidified time frame.  This could, of course, change a little bit, as our paperwork will now be sent to a judge for his approval before travel preparations are made for our daughter.  The next big milestone is to hear of the judge’s approval, and THEN we just wait for the call to book our flight! But, give or take a few, we have roughly 7 months before we meet our little one.

  • We get to send a photo book to our daughter!

Like, right now (I’ve been waiting for this moment!!!).  I’m just waiting for our family coordinator to send me instructions, and then I get to put together a family photo album for Baby S.

Adoption Update: NOC

We will send it to our agency, who will pass it on to the orphanage so her caretakers can show her pictures of her family when they tell her about us.  Which will happen at some point between NOW and when the judge gives his verbal approval.

As you think of it, will you pray for our baby’s heart?  Within the next few months, she will see photos of her parents for the first time.  BIG STUFF.  Please pray for God’s comfort to reign in her heart as she processes this huge, life-altering news. (Also, please pray that she thinks we’re good-looking.  Shallow, I know, but I just hope she finds her very white, non-Indian looking parents at least somewhat attractive!)

I know this may seem like just another step in the long, unpredictable process of adoption, but it is a REALLY BIG step for us.  7 (ish) months, and then we get to see her face-to-face. We are rejoicing in what God is working out for our family and praying that He will continue to supply all that we need to bring her home and be the parents she needs.

I am so thankful God is with us, working for us, and assuring us of His power and faithfulness.  He is a marvelous Father!

My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior, for he has looked on the humble estate of his servant…he who is mighty has done great things for me, and holy is his name. -Luke 1:46-49

2 thoughts on “Adoption Update: NOC

Comments are closed.