Surprise Baby Shower

Journey of Faith blog | Surprise Baby ShowerI didn’t tell you about the night my friends surprised me with a baby shower. It was one of the most beautiful evenings my husband and I have ever had, and we will never forget this kindness from such thoughtful and generous loved ones.

Since Tim was privy to what my friends were doing for our family, he helped by keeping me out of the house for a while. And since we’d been pretty busy as of late and he was about to leave town for a trip, I didn’t think anything of his request to take me on a date on a Sunday afternoon. We decided to go to our favorite stomping grounds (Purdue campus) and enjoyed some frisbee golf before having a nice dinner together.

I thought the fun was over, but when we arrived home, I noticed a beautiful display that had somehow mysteriously appeared in our kitchen. Tim told me later that I had asked him repeatedly, “What is this? What IS THIS?” as I was walking into the kitchen.  My mind really couldn’t comprehend what was happening, so it froze, I think. 🙂

(I am paranoid about sharing photos of our daughter, so I am leaving the original image of how the decor looked out of this post since it includes her photo. Thanks for your understanding!)

Journey of Faith blog | Surprise Baby ShowerJourney of Faith blog | Surprise Baby Shower

My friends walked into the living room when I didn’t notice and gave me quite the scare!  I quickly went from startled to joyous, though, at the thought of my sweet friends doing such a beautiful thing for me.  They have known me since childhood, and they have been with us through every step of this adoption journey; so the night felt extra special because of our history together.

Journey of Faith blog | Surprise Baby Shower

And then I became teary-eyed when they told me that the present I was about to open had cards in it from loved ones ALL OVER THE U.S.  Cards of love, encouragement and support just for us. We were so overwhelmed by everyone’s generosity, and we also didn’t mind opening the letters to find Target gift cards, neitha’. 🙂

Journey of Faith blog | Surprise Baby ShowerJourney of Faith blog | Surprise Baby ShowerJourney of Faith blog | Surprise Baby ShowerJourney of Faith blog | Surprise Baby Shower

To add to the surprise, one of my friends’ dad had come over while we were gone to set up Baby S’s bed frame (which was custom-made) for us!  It felt SO GOOD to see her bed in her room and was the perfect ending to a perfect evening.

us baby shower bedMy husband and I reflect on this night often and thank God continually for this wonderful group of people He’s given to us.  We are in another waiting phase of our adoption as we near travel time to meet our daughter, and it has encouraged us greatly to know there are many who are waiting with us and praying for our family.

We’ve already put some of the gift cards to good use, purchasing the final pieces of furniture for Baby S’s room as well as several educational toys and books. (We still have gift cards, too, that we’re holding onto for clothing needs for our girl.)  When I stand in her room and look around – which is often – I just SEE. LOVE. And I {love} that about my daughter’s room. She will be enveloped in it, not just from us, but also from family and friends. And my prayer is that someday, she will know that the Source of that love comes from the One who loves her most of all.

baby shower furniture.jpg

So, thank you, my dear and precious friends. For your thoughtfulness. For your prayers and support. For your encouragement as we wait.  Soon, Baby S will be here and we will finally be able to meet this precious little girl we have been preparing and waiting for all this time.

May you always know, my little one: you were wished for, longed for, prayed for and wanted. -Kristen Creech

 

