Of Snowfall and Winter Celebrations

The snow fell quietly in the night hours, covering the world with a blanket of sparkling white.

Of Snowfall and Winter Celebrations | Journey of Faith blog

When my morning alarm went off, I wanted nothing more than to bury myself beneath my warm covers. Every time it snows, I sense its invitation to get cozy with a good book and steaming mug of cocoa.

But the day was just starting, and there was work to be done. Out of bed, I trudged through a quick morning workout.

He texted me as I was getting ready. His idea? To celebrate the snowfall with a winter celebration that night. It was a genius plan.

After work, I picked out a small gift for him to open.

We lit candles and brought out our miniature tree.

Of Snowy Nights and Winter Celebrations | Journey of Faith blog

We feasted on breakfast for dinner, reminiscent of Christmas morning festivities. Cinnamon rolls and cheesy omelettes. Mmmmm.

20160120_180900

We had family devotions and thanked God for the beauty around us, for the hope He’s given us in and through Christ, and for the rich enjoyment of such things as snowy nights and winter celebrations.

Of Snowy Nights and Winter Celebrations | Journey of Faith blog

I was reminded that His grace is all around me. Grace undeserved, freely given. Grace that allows me to know Him through faith in Christ. Grace that instructs me of Him as I smell delicious candles, eat gooey sweet rolls, exchange presents with my husband, admire the freshly fallen snow, cuddle with my dogs, and play card games.

It was a night that will not be soon forgotten.

You say grace before meals. All right. But I say grace before the play and the opera, And grace before the concert and the pantomime, And grace before I open a book, And grace before sketching, boxing, walking, playing, dancing; And grace before I dip the pen in ink. -G.K. Chesterton

