A Baby Shower

I still remember that Sunday morning in late November 2013. It was the day that changed the trajectory of our family’s life forever. God, by His Spirit, impressed upon our hearts the conviction that it was time to begin the adoption process. We were both thrilled and terrified.

A Baby Shower | Journey of Faith blog

I have the vivid recollection of thinking that we were crazy to start such a time-consuming, financially draining, life-changing process. Tim had just stepped into a part-time position at his job to begin seminary classes. I had just found (by God’s grace) a full-time admin position at a local company and, probably needless to say; I was not “raking in the dough” by any stretch. Yet there we were, embarking on the journey of international adoption. We felt called to do it, but that didn’t mean we thought it would work. We wondered if this process would result in the children we hoped and prayed for. We questioned if God was asking us to do something that wouldn’t work out in the end (such things happen, after all). We scratched our heads in quandary, wondering if we were losing our minds.

And I remember that in those moments of doubt, at the beginning of this journey, I thought, “If I ever get to the point where I’m having a baby shower for my Indian kids, THEN I’ll know. I’ll know that God has done it, that He is doing it, and that we have followed His call. If I can just get to the baby shower…” It seemed impossible.

A Baby Shower | Journey of Faith blogA Baby Shower | Journey of Faith blog

Over two years later, and I’m sitting at my desk on a sunny Saturday morning in February 2016. We have recently celebrated the one year anniversary of being matched with our daughter.  Our case has passed in the Indian court, and we are preparing to travel by May.

And today, I’m preparing for a “baby” shower which several friends are hosting for me as we await the arrival of our little girl.

The magnitude of this day is not lost on me. It is a declaration that our children, whether by the fruit of our wombs or any other way, are a gift from God and the work of His hands. Today, we celebrate His faithfulness to accomplish His plans for our family.

It doesn’t seem so impossible any more that I will hold my child in my arms. Soon.

I saw the Lord, high and exalted,seated on a throne; and the train of his robe filled the temple…“Woe to me!” I cried. “I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King,the Lord Almighty.”

Then one of the seraphim flew to me with a live coal in his hand, which he had taken with tongs from the altar.With it he touched my mouth and said, “See, this has touched your lips; your guilt is taken away and your sin atoned for.”

Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?”

And I said, “Here am I. Send me!”

Isaiah 6:1,5-8

 

3 thoughts on “A Baby Shower

  1. And your Mom and I are so excited that the final process acquiring visa’s and then actually getting our grand daughter your daughter Praise Jesus !!!

    Like

Comments are closed.