What I Learned From Chip & Joanna Gaines

I, unlike most of America, have never watched Fixer Upper. My husband and I are one of those weird couples who do not have cable tv (we mostly love this), so I’ve missed out on all things ‘Magnolia’.

But that did not stop me from watching Chip and Joanna Gaines on their I Am Second video. After which, I stalked them on Youtube and listened to about five of their recent interviews.

I greatly admire what they’ve done in their business ventures and family life. And upon learning about such a couple, I would typically try to conjure up a way that I could somehow achieve what they have done.

I was tempted to do this after hearing Joanna talk about how well she and her husband work together. It’s exactly the way I feel about my husband, Tim; and boy, would I love to run a family business with him.

In one of her video testimonies, Joanna talks about how God led her down this road of opening up her Magnolia store, closing it for a time, and then reopening again in faith that He was up to something much bigger than she could imagine.

“How cool would that be?!” I thought as I pondered her story and attempted to see how it could be mine as well. “To work with my husband every day, influence my community for good purposes, and do what I love?”

It was then that I remembered. God has spoken to me before as well, only in a different way.

He did not lead me to partner with my spouse in a business deal (which I will probably always dream about doing, because working with Tim all day = FUN).

The circumstances of my life certainly did not prepare me for such a proposition as buying and flipping houses, and then hosting a reality tv show to talk about it.

No, God asked something else of Tim and me, which required the same kind of faith that Joanna mentioned.

He led us to India. To a 6 year old.

to-india

In my wildest dreams, I would not have imagined being the mother of a person from India. I wouldn’t have deemed it possible that together, my husband and I would be able to accomplish the lengthy, expensive and exhausting process of adoption.

And now in the thick of parenting, where my days are filled with food struggles, language learning, and a relentless little shadow who gives voice to every thought in her head; I easily lose sight of the magnitude of what God has done through us and for us.

I look at others’ stories and often think, “Neat-o! Wish I had your life, lady!”; all the while failing to consider how God has used the circumstances of my own life to lead me exactly right here.

To a husband who loves Jesus so much, that being loved by him is a lot like being loved by HIM.

What I Learned From Chip and Joanna Gaines | Journey of Faith blog | contentment and dreaming big

To a daughter from India, whom God used to make me a momma for the first time. From her, I am learning how to be a mom. A GOOD one, hopefully (help me, Lord).

What I Learned From Chip and Joanna Gaines | Journey of Faith blog | contentment and dreaming big

I don’t know that Tim and I will ever start a business. I certainly respect those who do.

I don’t know that I will ever be recognized by a large audience. I really admire people like the Gaines’ who can do what they do without losing sight of who THEY are and where they come from.

And I don’t know how wide of an impact I am going to have on my community beyond the four walls of my home (and hopefully the spaces our family frequents, like our church and school).

But God has led me to exactly where I should be. I know this. And to lose sight of what my role is in THIS season simply because I’m envying the different thing He’s doing in someone else’s life – well, that’s just plain silliness.

So, although I have not seen their show, I am thankful for Chip and Joanna. For the Magnolia story. It’s reminded me to dream big within the realm of who God has made me to be, where He has placed me, and what He has allowed me to experience. And certainly, it’s given me a greater appreciation for where I am RIGHT NOW – home. With my family.

What I Learned From Chip and Joanna Gaines | Journey of Faith blog | contentment and dreaming big
photo credit: Nitish Durbha
